Floor sanding crisis.

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bobcat23

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting. I'm feeling dejected and demoralized because my home repair project is going awry.

I rented a floor sander for the weekend to work on my hardwood floors - never done this before, so it's all new. There's only one rental place in my small town so choices are limited. I rented an old orbital sander and brought it home, plugged it in, and it ran for about 30 seconds before blowing out the circuit breaker (marked at 20amps). Repeated this process about twenty times with different circuits until finally tried the one circuit marked at 30 amps. This time the sander didn't trip the circuit - but it ran for about thirty seconds then shut down on its own. Now I'm stuck in the middle of a project and I don't know what to do. I keep resetting it and restarting it - and it keeps shutting down. The rental place is closed until Monday.

Does anyone have suggestions on ways that I can work out this problem on my own? Or are my floors not meant to be sanded this weekend?

Welcome Bobcat:
You don't need the stress of nursing the rental palce's junk all weekend.
Go to your nearby Lowes and rent their orbital sander. It is a flat, square sanding surface and does a good job if you don't have any wax on the floor. They will also furnish a video to give you exact directions on how to do the job.
Glenn

Look at the sander and find the tag with the voltage and amperage, then tell us and someone will tell you where and what to hook up, or plug into. Good luck, hear from ya soon......