Fusebox neutral bar grounded? Correct?

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sh3ppard

Reaction score
Hi. Can you guys please help me out, I'm having some issues:

First question:
In the fusebox the neutral bar that all the wires connect to should not be grounded to the box, correct?

On the ground bar and the neutral bar I'm getting continuity, is that normal?

Q2: To find out where the problem is down one of the lines or the bar itself, do I test it one by one by disconnecting the neutrals one by one?

Will that tell me the problem?

What reasons could my neutral be grounded in my fuse box?

I have some DIY electrical experience but this baffling me.

I don't have enough money to hire an electrician and I need to get this fixed soon.

Thank you very much for your help.

First question:
In the fusebox the neutral bar that all the wires connect to should not be grounded to the box, correct? Depends on whether the box is the main panel or sub-panel. The neutral bar should be grounded in a main panel but, not a sub-panel.

On the ground bar and the neutral bar I'm getting continuity, is that normal? Depends on whether the box is the main panel or sub-panel. The neutral bar should have continuity in a main panel but, not a sub-panel.

Q2: To find out where the problem is down one of the lines or the bar itself, do I test it one by one by disconnecting the neutrals one by one? Not sure what your trying to accomplish but, disabling the entire bar will prove nothing.

Will that tell me the problem? Nothing

What reasons could my neutral be grounded in my fuse box? To meet NEC code requirements

Hi and thanks for your help!

A basic question that I want to be sure of is how can I tell which is the main panel and which is the sub panel?

One box is located inside the house and one is outside the house.