Hello HRT from Long Island, NY

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kenji

Reaction score
Hello everyone. My name is Kenji. I am half Japanese and half English, hence the first name. I was born in NY, and am a total Yankee to the bone though. I wrote a long bio which people probably won't read but I will just summarize again.

Again, I was born in NY. Spent a few years in the Army as a tanker. Finished school and work in IT. I am decently mechanically inclined. I can do basic auto repair, and do most of my motorcycle work myself. With home stuff, though I am a beginner. I am not green though. My father and brother, who are RIP, always fostered and championed a DIY attitude. My brother taught me a lot of motorcycle stuff, and while he was in college he worked as a car and home audio and alarm installer. He was ridiculous with electrical stuff. Went the extra mile as everything had to be meticulous, measured, neat, and organized. My father had an old wooden boat that he had to work on every year. I never understood why he didn't get a modern fiberglass boat that didn't require all the maintenance and care. He enjoyed sanding and painting it. He received pride when it was all done. Same with household projects. Outside of major plumbing and electrical things that were beyond his scope he did almost everything. He was a badass.