hi I'am trying to wire to outlets, switch and light

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by dylanjury91, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. Jan 25, 2013 #1

    dylanjury91

    dylanjury91

    dylanjury91

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello I am trying to wire the outlets to always be on to a switch and light.

    Now I would wire the two outlets in parallel and the would I run then nuetral straight from the outlet to the light and wire the hot to the switch then light.

    Also would it be wise to use a new breaker for it instead of going from another outlet outside of the room and if so is there any links on wiring a new breaker.

    Thanks again for the help
    Dylan
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  2. Jan 25, 2013 #2

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    You are allowed to have up to 12 outlets(receptacles and lights) on a circuit. If you can maintain less than 12 by tapping off and existing receptacle then that is fine.
    Another consideration is what is going to be used on this circuit. If you might be using heaters or and AC then a new circuit might be a good idea.
     
  3. Jan 25, 2013 #3

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    IIRC, Ray C. Mullin's interpretation of the '99 NEC said 10 to 20 on a circuit was practical and that the NEC doesn't spec this number.
     
  4. Jan 25, 2013 #4

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    The OP is in CANADA. We do have a 12 outlet rule here.
     
    speedy petey and Wuzzat? like this.
  5. Jan 26, 2013 #5

    dylanjury91

    dylanjury91

    dylanjury91

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well as of now the basement is all wired on one breaker and that is running the washing machine, computer, tv, game system, speakers and a fish tank. Also 3 lights and two switchs.

    I'm also wonderig if my wiring will be correct.

    Thanks
     
  6. Jan 26, 2013 #6

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    I would run a new circuit for sure. Laundry area, which would be the washing machine zone, is supposed be on its own circuit. It could be fine if it was done like before that code came into effect, but I would not add anything new to this circuit.
     

Share This Page