insulating old home

Discussion in 'General Home Improvement Discussion' started by hoarea, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. Jan 29, 2008 #1

    hoarea

    hoarea

    hoarea

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking into redoing upstairs of 65 yearold home, there is a little bit of sawdust in the walls now bout not much. i am also having the wiring redone at the sametime. i live in ontario so we get some cold winds. i no i can get blowin but i dont really like it. my problem is i have two layers of drywall then laths and than a 1 inch board. does anyone no why there is a board there usually just laths on the studs. i hope someone can help.can i remove the inside board?
     
  2. Jan 29, 2008 #2

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    glennjanie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Welcome Hoarea:
    Yes, you could remove the inside boards. The only thing is, if the walls were originally filled with sawdust (which is not too unusual in your area) you will sure have a mess on your hands to clean up.
    I wold recommend removing the boards and replacing the insulation with a more modern version.
    Glenn
     
  3. Jan 30, 2008 #3

    hoarea

    hoarea

    hoarea

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank u for your help any ideas why they put boards on the inside of the wall. i have worked on old homes before and usually the laths are right on the 2x4 studs
     

Share This Page