Is This Room Ready for Sanding?

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D725A

Reaction score
Hired a contractor to remove wallpaper, plaster and paint living room and hall. He says having put two coats of skim coat--in some areas with mesh--he's ready to sand tomorrow. However in looking closely at the work, I've found mesh showing in dozens of places--meaning to me there's only one layer of skim coat, some very sloppy work uner the windows and near stairs, and some hardened drops from the plaster weld that were allowed to drip. Where it looks sloppy I'm guessing he mixed in extra plaster for strength which then dried before he could smooth it out. Is this all correctable by sanding? Surely if the mesh is visible now, sanding will make it more visible. I hope i can attach photos.

DSCN3987ed.jpg

DSCN3982ed.jpg

I'm no expert by any means with plaster but I have hung my fair share of dry wall .
I would ask him to put on another layer to fill the mesh if he sands it now he will just remove more plaster making the mesh more visible .

Thanks Tyler for your answer. FYI this is an old plaster wall but I think your advice stands. So since it would be hard to identify every area where mesh is showing he'd have to put another complete skim coat on yes? I guess looking at a white wall can be a bit stupefying after awhile, so plasterers must have a trick to systemtically cover a certain area then move right or left so they know they covered everything.

Another thought would be let him sand now and go back over it again with a skim coat more time to do it like that but it would be the same as having him apply another coat before sanding . Just make sure he dose fill the voids one way or another .

Are you sure the "contractor" is a professional? That's one of the worst examples I've seen.
Do what Neal says, lock up the check book.