Kitchen Wiring

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xedd

Reaction score
Hi, my kitchen has one light centered in the middle of the room with a L-shaped counterspace on one side of the room and an flat I-shape on the other wall. The issue that we have is that while standing at the counters, we cast shadows on whatever we are working on. We have under cupboard lights as well but not over the kitchen sink since there are no shelves at that location.

The single ceiling mounted fixture is controlled by two separate switches on either side of the room, 3-way switch correct?

I was thinking of taking on my first major electrical project (aside from changing all of my thermostats to programmables) by adding 3 or 4 pot lights. Consider me a total newbie with electrical wiring. Since we a bungalow style home, the attic space is right above the kitchen so accessing the existing electrical wiring for the ceiling light should be very easy...

In order to wire up the new pot-lights, I am assuming it will involve simply adding a new length of wire run between each pot light, tie white-to-white and black-to-black and then hooking that it into the existing wiring going to the ceiling light, correct? I should not need to run additional wire into the wall space...

Thanks for your input.

Yep it's pretty straight forward assuming you want all the pot lights to be on the 3-way switch and not controlled individually or in any other combination.