Microwave use and outlets in an old house

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by kmn, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. Feb 23, 2010 #1

    kmn

    kmn

    kmn

    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live in a home built ~1900. The wiring in general seems to be just fine - I have a few other outlets with power strips and multiple electronic devices and no problems so far. I'm trying to decide into which kitchen outlet I should plug a microwave, but each involves a little adjustment. My choices are:

    1) Use a three-to-two prong adapter (three prong microwave cord into an old two prong outlet) to plug into an outlet already in use by a fridge (with the same kind of adapter), or

    2) Use a very short heavy duty extension cord (microwave or air conditioner rated) to plug into a three prong outlet. Would I be able to use a power strip for this setup (with only the microwave on the strip)?

    I know each might be a little risky. The extension cord is my preference for ease of use, but I'd like some advice/opinion as to whether one is safer than the other, particularly in an old home. I've seen plenty of warnings about extensions cords/power strips, but know I need to use a heavy duty one. Would a microwave AND fridge be too much for one outlet? I do plan on having the microwave plugged in only when I'm using it. Thanks for your advice!
     
  2. Feb 23, 2010 #2

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    If the cord's plugs and sockets don't get warm during use you're OK for safety.

    Popping circuit breakers are another issue.
    If the microwave is running when the fridge starts up the breaker might trip, depending on the breaker's trip "trip curve" or the fuse's "clearing time".
    Look at the nameplate current draw on each appliance.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010
  3. Feb 26, 2010 #3

    breid1903

    breid1903

    breid1903

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you or anyone you care about sleep in this home? if so do not use the hot cord method of circuit testing. either hire a license or buy yourself an amprobe to test the circuits to see if they will handle the amperage. breid.............:banana::banana::banana:
     
  4. Feb 26, 2010 #4

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    Now it has a name: HCM! :D
    Actually, it only checks plug/socket contact resistance. :cool:

    For a whole house elec. check all the way back to the pole t'former you need a DVM and a 10A load [like a hair dryer] and about 5 min per outlet.
    Or get Ideal's 65-165 tester; that thing will answer your questions before you even ask them.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  5. Feb 26, 2010 #5

    breid1903

    breid1903

    breid1903

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    went to the ideal web site. searched for 65-165. there is nothing listed with those numbers. breid..............:banana::banana::banana:
     
  6. Feb 26, 2010 #6

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    Yes, it's weird
    [ame=http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=%22we+use+the+Ideal+Model+65-165+circuit+analyzer%22&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8]"we use the Ideal Model 65-165 circuit analyzer" - Google Search[/ame]

    Maybe it's this
    Problems with Ideal SureTest Circuit Analyzer #61-165 - InterNACHI Message Board
    I know one of these gadgets was supposed to be able to test AFCIs by simulating an arc.

    This type of memory
    Semantic memory - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    is supposed to be more reliable than
    Episodic memory - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Maybe if I owned one I'd remember it better. :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  7. Feb 27, 2010 #7

    triple D

    triple D

    triple D

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is most likely the three prong is a newer romex style wire. Plug in here with a 3-5' air conditioner rated cord.
     

Share This Page