Mobile home floor sag beam size?

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UlyssesSign

Reaction score
Hello all.
I have a mobile home that has been put on a foundation, the floor joists are 2x8 and cannot take the weight of the 14' span of the house. They are sagging considerably, I've noticed some interior walls pulling away from the ceiling by about 1/2"

I have a 5' crawlspace and plan on installing a beam under the house to take the weight.
The span of the floor is 14'.
2x8 floor joists.
I am wondering what size lumber I can get away with for the beam
I live in Canada so a 16' 2x10 is 30$. Just for reference.

Thanks guys.

Was the steel trailer frame removed when you put it on a foundation? 2x8 is really undersized for a 14' span. You're going to need a beam with several posts down the middle of the floor. I'm not an engineer and don't play one on TV, but I suspect a glue-lam or 3 2x10's glued and bolted together with a pier or steel post down to a footing every 8 feet.

Was the steel trailer frame removed when you put it on a foundation? 2x8 is really undersized for a 14' span. You're going to need a beam with several posts down the middle of the floor. I'm not an engineer and don't play one on TV, but I suspect a glue-lam or 3 2x10's glued and bolted together with a pier or steel post down to a footing every 8 feet.
A little over kill, 3 3" nails 16 inch on center, there are no forces pulling them apart.
If you can get down to the footing on the end a treated 6x6 would sit right on that. The pad in the middle would be about 24 x24" can be just dug down, no forms needed with a 3 x3 grid of 5/8 rebar keep the rebar well within the concrete.

unfortunately the frame was removed and discarded.