My Neighbors Rat Problem

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

-bud-

Reaction score
I'm new but I'm diving right in. I'm buying my in laws house and all is well except for one thing, There neighbors are hoarders. The rat problem has reached Biblical proportion in that every night I capture and kill at least three. I'm using live traps and then shooting them with a high powered BB gun. (There illegal in the city, but I'm country folk so I don't care). I called the city and they came out and said there was naught they could do about it. I tried talking to the neighbors, but they insisted it wasn't coming from them. The neighbors on the other side are a nice clean Mexican family that tends to their property amazingly well. I mean wonderful brick work immaculate lawn the whole nine yards. I've been trapping and killing for over two months and whenever I go into the backyard you can still see them scurrying the fence line. My trash can has been chewed through by the rats and when I went to the city they said I would have to buy a new one. Aside form burning my neighbors filth infested house to the ground (you can smell there house) what else can I do? I'm at my wits end and if a solution to my problem doesn't come up sometime soon I tempted to back out of my commitment to my inlaws. Any clues? Help!

Start raisin some pigs...they eat rats and smell even worse.:D

Other than that you need to contact the area health dept, then a lawyer.
Have them send the town a nice letter, the cleanup will be cheaper than the lawsuit. When you deal with politicians...you need to be one of them, or get a lawyer...they speak the same language.:rolleyes: