Need help with switched outlets

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by glasshut, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. Oct 29, 2013 #1

    glasshut

    glasshut

    glasshut

    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have two outlets (one of each side of the sofa) in the room operated by one switch. The top outlets on both are controlled by the switch. The bottom outlets in both are always hot.

    My husband changed the outlets and switch and now the switch does not operate anything. All outlets are always hot. He says he wired them the same way they were....but obviously not :rolleyes:.

    Can you help us?
     
  2. Oct 29, 2013 #2

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,902
    Likes Received:
    3,119
    He missed one step, he wired two black wires to the two brass screws. there is a little a little tab that joins the two screws, that little tab needs to be broke out and then the switch will control one.
    And welcome to the site.
     
  3. Oct 29, 2013 #3

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Take a close look at the difference on the side of the old outlet compared to the one you installed.
    And yes, welcome to the site :beer:
     
  4. Oct 29, 2013 #4

    glasshut

    glasshut

    glasshut

    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm can't see anything joining the screws on either the old switch or the new. That area is covered by a shield (box) that is riveted in place, so can't see between the screws. The only thing sticking out are the screws themselves. ( I know what you mean though about the link between the screws, we just can't get to it without tearing up the switch.)

    P.S. Thanks for the welcome. Finding so many interesting things. Hubby may be sorry after I tell him all the diy stuff I'm finding.
     
  5. Oct 29, 2013 #5

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    The link is not on the switch. It is on the receptacle. Perhaps you need to buy a better quality receptacle that will allow you to break the tab. The ones for less that $1.00 are cheap garbage.
     
    nealtw likes this.
  6. Oct 30, 2013 #6

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    CallMeVilla

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    594
    Watch this simple video ... He works VERY fast but he indicates the tab was cut to create a separate 1/2 hot and always hot situation.

    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7_TSFhpV3E[/ame]

    Here are two pics showing the BRASS side of the receptacle where the tab needs to be broken:

    Recep Tab.jpg

    RECEP TAB 3.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2013

Share This Page