Replace Single 20A Outlet with Duplex?

Help Support House Repair Talk:

SavvyCat

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
121
Reaction score
10
This is hopefully an easy answer. I have one 15A GFCI duplex outlet (two sockets) in my garage on one wall, and a lonely single 20A outlet (one socket) on another wall with my little chest freezer plugged into it. That's it for garage power unless I climb up to plug into the door opener. Is there anything preventing me from changing the single to a duplex? They're on the same breaker.
 

Snoonyb

Lifetime Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,560
Reaction score
992
Nope, unless the conductors feeding that recep. are not 12ga.
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,776
Reaction score
3,410
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
The same breaker is a 15 or 20? Why move the gfci if the first one is wired right the next is covered.
 

SavvyCat

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
121
Reaction score
10
The same breaker is a 15 or 20? Why move the gfci if the first one is wired right the next is covered.
It's 20. I'd actually like to move it because I want to put a surge protector on it that had a tap screw in the middle, and you can't do that with a GFCI. :) I play with all my toys over there and the one I have without a tap screw is hard to pull a plug from without yanking the whole thing off. Makes more sense to have it at the front/house side of the garage. Not a big deal.
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,776
Reaction score
3,410
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
It's 20. I'd actually like to move it because I want to put a surge protector on it that had a tap screw in the middle, and you can't do that with a GFCI. :) I play with all my toys over there and the one I have without a tap screw is hard to pull a plug from without yanking the whole thing off. Makes more sense to have it at the front/house side of the garage. Not a big deal.
The gfci is usually on the first outlet so if you move it you might be plugging into one without that protection. If you test the gfci does the other one stop working. It might be easier to just add anther outlet next to the gfci.
 

JoeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,764
Reaction score
361
All receptacles in the garage must be GFCI protected.
 

Sparky617

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2014
Messages
1,717
Reaction score
633
Location
Cary NC
All receptacles in the garage must be GFCI protected.

I believe in the not too distant past a single outlet for a refrigerator or freezer in a garage didn't need to be GFCI protected. That may have changed in a recent update to the code, my 20-year-old house has a single outlet (not a duplex) dedicated outlet for a freezer in my garage. It was built to the code at the time and it is not GFCI protected. So the OPs house could have been built to code and not have this particular outlet GFCI protected.

I lost some food in a previous house when the GFCI on my garage outlet tripped and my freezer was plugged into the outlet. I didn't have a dedicated freezer outlet in that house, that was built in the mid-1980s. My current house was built in 1998-99.
 

kok328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
3,158
Reaction score
360
I believe in the not too distant past a single outlet for a refrigerator or freezer in a garage didn't need to be GFCI protected. That may have changed in a recent update to the code, my 20-year-old house has a single outlet (not a duplex) dedicated outlet for a freezer in my garage. It was built to the code at the time and it is not GFCI protected. So the OPs house could have been built to code and not have this particular outlet GFCI protected.

I lost some food in a previous house when the GFCI on my garage outlet tripped and my freezer was plugged into the outlet. I didn't have a dedicated freezer outlet in that house, that was built in the mid-1980s. My current house was built in 1998-99.
That's my take on the situation also. As long as the non-GFCI is single use and used for a fridge then it's OK.
Therefore, it would not be Ok to replace the outlet with a single duplex.
You don't want your fridge on a GFCI outlet and need to determine if the single use outlet is first on the circuit or on the LOAD side of the GFCI.
If it is a 20amp breaker then your going to want to verify your wire gauge 12AWG through the whole circuit and replace the 15amp GFIC with a 20amp.
 

JoeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,764
Reaction score
361
Current code, unless you have a local amendment, requires all receptacles, including in the ceiling, to be GFCI protected.
 

68bucks

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
245
Reaction score
93
I just built a barn and the inspector told me all the outlets had to be GFI protected and all outlets less than 5' off the floor had to be tamper resistant. It's not attached to the house but he said that's the way it was for a garage too.
 

Sparky617

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2014
Messages
1,717
Reaction score
633
Location
Cary NC
Current code, unless you have a local amendment, requires all receptacles, including in the ceiling, to be GFCI protected.

But you don't have to go back and keep updating your house if it was built to the code when it was built. That said, I would probably replace the single outlet with a GFCI outlet.
 

JoeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,764
Reaction score
361
You don't have keep updating but if you make changes you have to meet current code.
 

cdestuck

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
5
Location
Altoona, Pa
If it’s within your comfort zone, I’d look into tapping into those outlets and doing some race track wiring and adding additional outlets in your space
 

Latest posts

Top