Replacing shower walls

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rosborn

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to the forum and a complete novice with regard to the topic that brings me to the forum - I have to strip my shower walls and install the backing board and tiles.

Here's the background. The house, a raised ranch, was built in 1973. We have lived in it since 1992. About 10 years ago tiles started falling off the shower wall. I would mix some grout and re-apply the tiles as they came off. This past winter large sections of the wall came off and rather than deal with it during the winter I simply covered the walls with visqueen. I have an opportunity in the next couple of weeks (my wife and kids will be going to Florida for a week) in which the shower won't have to be used multiple times a day. I plan on taking this time to tear the walls down and install new backing board and tiles.

What do I do? A step by step process/guide would be greatly appreciated.

For what it's worth, I am a pretty handy guy and have been able to undertake every home repair that I have attempted.

Advice/suggestions are most welcome (anything except telling me that I need to hire a professional - I can't afford that)

Thanks!

Rob

I don't think you'll be able to do all the work in one week's time. You could probably do it in two weeks tho.

The first thing to do is to get:

A piece (or several pieces) of scrap carpet large enough to cover the bottom of the tub or shower. That way, hard pieces of sharp tile won't ruin the finish of the tub or shower bottom. Put the plug in the tub and tape over it with masking tape to prevent any pieces of tile from getting into the drain pipe.) Then put the carpet pieces pile side down in the tub.