Rewiring outlet?

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by TaskBoy, Nov 26, 2008.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Nov 26, 2008 #1

    TaskBoy

    TaskBoy

    TaskBoy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a counter-high outlet that I want to move down to floor level (about 12 inches from floor). I want to lose the the counter outlet and wire nut together the NM cables coming into and out of that box (just put a cover on it). I then want to run a NM cable out that box and terminate it at the new floor level outlet. Sound ok?
     
  2. Nov 26, 2008 #2

    triple D

    triple D

    triple D

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds good, just make sure the wire size is a match, and oh yah, turn off the darn power first. We care about yah! Good luck....
     
  3. Nov 26, 2008 #3

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    Task, I see no problem in what you want to do. However, ....

    Is this existing receptacle serving and actual kitchen or bathroom counter? If you will will likely be creating a code (and logical) violation by removing it.

    Second, if not, and you do not want to upper box and more, there is a good chance the wires come from below the upper box. You may just be able to pop the staples loose and bring the cables down to your new box.
     
  4. Nov 27, 2008 #4

    TaskBoy

    TaskBoy

    TaskBoy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Petey, the area was a wet bar and now is going to be a work cubby. Wet bars are sooo 70s, lol. Unfortunately the wires were way too short to run down, hence my idea. Thanks.
     

Share This Page