roof deck insulation

Discussion in 'Insulation and Radiant Barriers' started by jfowl83, May 25, 2016.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating:

  1. May 25, 2016 #1

    jfowl83

    jfowl83

    jfowl83

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi i have a house i'm remodeling and plan on moving the furnace into the attic. There is no basement and at only 600 square feet i don't want it taking up floor space. So to do this I need to insulate the roof deck. Is this doable with rigid foam or do I need it spray foamed. I know spray is better but the cost make me want to check for other options. From what i understand bat insulation isn't an option. I live in climate zone 5. let me know what you think is best or if there is additional info you need for a better answer. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. May 25, 2016 #2

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24,459
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Location:
    Chiliwack BC Canada
    Why do you need to insulate it.
     
  3. May 25, 2016 #3

    bud16415

    bud16415

    bud16415

    Fixer Upper Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    I am far from an insulation expert but I am told if the sheet product is thick enough and sealed into the cavity with a foam seal product it will work the same as sprayed in place foam. The key is sealing it.
     
    jfowl83 likes this.
  4. May 25, 2016 #4

    jfowl83

    jfowl83

    jfowl83

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local code requires it with the furnace being up there
     
  5. May 25, 2016 #5

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24,459
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Location:
    Chiliwack BC Canada
    Our code makes an exception for a furnace rated for exterior which could be used in un insulated space so the furnace might cost a few more dollars.
     
    jfowl83 likes this.
  6. May 25, 2016 #6

    jfowl83

    jfowl83

    jfowl83

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks i'll look into that. the inspector guy didn't mention that but i don't think attic furnaces are common around here. Most places have basements.

    Any other thoughts on how to insulate if needed or if i decide to go that route?
     
  7. May 25, 2016 #7

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24,459
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Location:
    Chiliwack BC Canada
    I would check into just building an insulated room around the furnace.
    To insulate the deck you want to maintain the air flow from soffet to to peak and all that, if you use foam, in some places that has to be covered with drywall.
     
    KULTULZ likes this.
  8. May 26, 2016 #8

    KULTULZ

    KULTULZ

    KULTULZ

    JACK of All Trades ~ MASTER of NONE

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    84
    ...hmmpf...

    So code is saying that the attic install furnace/air handler must be provided proper insulation to prevent heat/cooling loss unless it is exterior rated (cabinet insulated)?

    Learned factoid of the day... :)
     
  9. May 26, 2016 #9

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    24,459
    Likes Received:
    3,262
    Location:
    Chiliwack BC Canada
    I can't imagine what the difference is.
     
  10. May 26, 2016 #10

    KULTULZ

    KULTULZ

    KULTULZ

    JACK of All Trades ~ MASTER of NONE

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    84
    Whet I am thinking is a retro-fit, whereas the air handler is being moved from a heated space into the attic, needs to be insulated. Also a new or service replacement by a contractor.

    I have a split system on my abode. Never thought to check the attic Model No. to see if it is factory insulated. Builder/contractor might have tried to save some money... :(
     

Share This Page