Running electrical wire in an offgrade house.

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by TallPaul, Jun 25, 2009.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Jun 25, 2009 #1

    TallPaul

    TallPaul

    TallPaul

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I have an old offgrade concrete block house in Jacksonville, FL built probably in the late 50's or 60's. The old gray non-grounded wire. The house has a 2 in 12 pitch roof as well: very shallow. I re-wired part of the house myself under permit from the city: kitchen and bathrooms to be specific (I tested for it, etc). I am now thinking of re-wiring the remainder of the house as the old cable is getting rather brittle.

    My question is: If you were to re-wire a house with a shallow 2 in 12 pitch attic area that also had an offgrade area, what cable would you run where? All lighting fixtures and switches through the attic, and receps through the offgrade area?

    Thanks!

    Paul
     
  2. Jun 25, 2009 #2

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    What does "offgrade" mean?
     
  3. Jun 26, 2009 #3

    locknut

    locknut

    locknut

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of wiring did you use in the job you completed so far? Why do you think any further wiring would necessarily be different?
     
  4. Jun 26, 2009 #4

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    250
    What does the pitch of the roof and "off grade" (whatever that is) have to do with what wire you use?
     

Share This Page