Screw Gun Design Research

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nicascott1

Reaction score
I am a product design student at Arizona State University and I am currently working on a research project for redesigning the Screw Gun. To ensure credibility throughout this project, I was hoping that frequent users of this tool could answer the following list of questions. When answering the questions please be as honest and detailed as possible. I am looking for your great insights to help me improve my design.

Thank you in advance for your help!

1) What uses have you found for a Screw Gun and what do you use it for most often?

2) What brand do you prefer and why? You can also include any details about brands that you will not use anymore and why you avoid them.

3) Do you have any tricks or techniques that simplifies the use of the Screw Gun?

4) Do you have any specific problems or complaints about Screw Guns or how they work?

5) Have you ever made any modifications or thought of modifications to the Screw Gun that would make your job easier?

1) What uses have you found for a Screw Gun and what do you use it for most often?
> I use it to hang drywall and for deck screws

2) What brand do you prefer and why? You can also include any details about brands that you will not use anymore and why you avoid them.
> Milwaukee is the brand I prefer. The cheaper guns don't seem to have enough horse power. The Milwaukee seems heavier but it can take the abuse.

3) Do you have any tricks or techniques that simplifies the use of the Screw Gun?
> We tape the depth adjustment in place so it doesn't rotate out of adjustment.

4) Do you have any specific problems or complaints about Screw Guns or how they work?
> If the screw misses a stud the screw gun will not back it out.
> Some guns have a removeable nose which gets lost.
> The depth gauge doesn't stay locked.