Stove Dial Switches Not Aligned With Marker

Help Support House Repair Talk:

shackdweller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
18
I hope that the photo shows up on this post, because it shows the problem better than a written description could do.

Two of my stove dials,when turned off, and locked into the "off" position, the word, "off" on the dials, do not align with the vertical marker above the dial.

One dial, when locked in the off position aligns midway between High and Off.

And, the other one aligns with Lo under the vertical indicator mark above the dial.

How can I get this problem corrected?

 
Last edited by a moderator:

shackdweller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
18
Well, the photo didn't show up. Here is the URL of the photo on my Flickr account:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/45251571@N00/32530423598/in/dateposted/

Well, as long as I was logged into my Flickr account the photo did show up when clicking on that link. Since I last easily posted photos here on this board, with no problems, something has changed with Flickr, and also possibly with this board

If anyone can understand what the problem I am describing is, without viewing a photo of it, I'll welcome a reply.
 
Last edited:

jeffmattero76

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
235
Reaction score
89
The back of the knob and the stem on the stove are typically shaped as a "D". Remove the knob, and the reattach it, making sure that the flat on the stem goes into the flat on the knob.

If that doesn't correct the problem, you probably have the wrong knobs. Go to www.repairclinic.com, enter the model number of your range, and you should be able to buy the correct knobs.
 

shackdweller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
18
Many thanks for the quick reply, jeffmattero76. I'll check out both my local appliance store, and the link you posted above.

This situation has bothered me to the point that I keep the stove turned off at the breaker box, except when I use the stove for cooking. I do this as a safety precaution, but probably would not be doing so if the dials switches aligned up with the "off" in the proper position when turned off and locked.
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
3,924
Reaction score
749
Your says that you need to be logged in to view, so, we need your pass word.

When you remove the knob you will see a nut, loosen that nut and rotate the switch, tighten the nut, reinstall the knob, and in the future try and be a little gentler.
 

shackdweller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
18
Thanks for th epost, Snoonyb. I had thoughtg of such a thing, but did not see a nut to loosen.

I will look again, more closely. I also went to the appliance department of a local store, and they said they sold dials for different makes of stoves.

There have been some changes on Flickr, and I want to edit all of the references to the photo out of my previous posts, but can't find an edit button, although one of my posts was noted as having been edited. Does the edit function on this board expire after a limited number of minutes, as on some other boards?
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,769
Reaction score
3,395
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
Thanks for th epost, Snoonyb. I had thoughtg of such a thing, but did not see a nut to loosen.

I will look again, more closely. I also went to the appliance department of a local store, and they said they sold dials for different makes of stoves.

There have been some changes on Flickr, and I want to edit all of the references to the photo out of my previous posts, but can't find an edit button, although one of my posts was noted as having been edited. Does the edit function on this board expire after a limited number of minutes, as on some other boards?
Are you sure you have not mixed up the knobs that you have. Is the switch screwed in place or can it swivel if you loosen the nut.
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
3,924
Reaction score
749
Also, if you have a model # maybe we can find a PDF for the appliance.
 

shackdweller

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
87
Reaction score
18
Glad to say that the problem is solved, at no expense and without having to take apart any switches or other parts of the stove.

And, it happened by accident.

I had taken both of the wrongly aligned dials off of the stove to show to the man at the appliance store, who said if i got the model number, he could probably get me a properly aligned switch.

Well, last night, I looked at the stove, where one of the switches was laying, and the part of the dial with the settins, off, hi low, and in between, which was on a round metal ring, that fits into a groove in the plastic dial, had fallen off. under the part of the switch that turns, was a small hole indicating that was where the bottom of the metal ring was to be aligned, and sure enough, the "off" indicator was at the top of the switch. I was able to get the metal ring off of the other dial switch, and correctly align it, in both cases pushing the metal ring into the groove seeming to be sufficient to hold it in place by tension. So, I'm glad that nagging problem has been solved. I just wonder why I had not seen that and figured it out after all of these years of putting up with that problem. Very glad to have it fixed.
 

Angie

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
520
Reaction score
73
Well, the photo didn't show up. Here is the URL of the photo on my Flickr account:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/45251571@N00/32530423598/in/dateposted/

Well, as long as I was logged into my Flickr account the photo did show up when clicking on that link. Since I last easily posted photos here on this board, with no problems, something has changed with Flickr, and also possibly with this board

If anyone can understand what the problem I am describing is, without viewing a photo of it, I'll welcome a reply.

Image does not show as one has to be signed in to Flikr to see it. If you can do a copy from flikr and paste into the thread here, others can see it.
 
Top