Table Saw Dust Collector

Discussion in 'Garage & Workshop Forum' started by Gary, Apr 1, 2018.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Apr 1, 2018 #1

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    I've been procrastinating about doing this for years. I finally got tired enough of cleaning the shop only to have saw dust on the floor immediately after sweeping. Actually got this idea from my neighbor a few years ago.
    I'm close to done, ran out of time tonight. I think I'll use it for awhile to see how it works, I may build another hopper on the back side of the box to catch dust blowing out the back.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Apr 1, 2018 #2

    elbo

    elbo

    elbo

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    101
    I did something very similar. Except, I replaced the metal stand with one I made of plywood and removed the tray from the bottom of the saw that the mfgr. made to connect a vacuum . the new stand is square and on casters. I made a drawer to fit in the stand under the saw, and pull it out to get rid of the sawdust, and cutoffs that slip past the blade insert. It works great and I'm sure yours will also. An added bonus is that it makes it really easy to clean the trunion area under the saw table using compressed air
    If I ever get off my backside I'll post some photos of it as well as other modifications that I made
     
  3. Apr 4, 2018 #3

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    Yea, I think my neighbor went the plywood cabinet route. By the time I'm done, it might have been faster to go that way. I cut some parts out on the CNC tonight, but ran out of bolts, so I'm done for today. Decided to add a couple rollers on the out feed side as part of the hopper. I don't get a lot of dust out the back, relative to the rest of the saw anyway, so it won't get closed in too much. I'd like to keep the motor out in the open as much as possible.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 4, 2018
  4. Apr 4, 2018 #4

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,944
    Likes Received:
    3,131
  5. Apr 4, 2018 #5

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    I may put a bung in the dust box for those times when I do a lot of sawing, but most of the time it's just a cut or two and then it gets pushed off into the corner. As long as I can catch most of the dust, I'll be happy. I have a jet vac in the CNC shop, but that's a stationary machine and it makes a lot of dust.
     
  6. Apr 4, 2018 #6

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,944
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    I googled jet vac and found this guy.
    upload_2018-4-3_19-57-43.jpeg
     
  7. Apr 4, 2018 #7

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    That must be an aftermarket internal replacement part. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    nealtw likes this.
  8. Apr 29, 2018 #8

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    One thing led to another & today I built a couple cyclone dust separators. Decided I may as well put a vac on the table saw. One for the CNC (different building) and I bought second Jet vac for the shop table saw, Miter saw & hand tools.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 29, 2018
  9. Apr 29, 2018 #9

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    I couldn't resist making a logo for the units and laser engraving it on the plywood. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 29, 2018
  10. Apr 29, 2018 #10

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    I cut some circles out of aluminum sign scrap for the tops & bottoms of the separators. I'll connect a ground wire to one of the ready rods for static control.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Apr 29, 2018 #11

    tuffy

    tuffy

    tuffy

    well-known member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    kirksville missouri
    That is just plain awesome especially the way you engraved your logo and name on them. Is there any thing you cant make?
     
  12. Apr 29, 2018 #12

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    Thanks Tuffy. I can't make apple pies. ;)
     
  13. May 1, 2018 #13

    elbo

    elbo

    elbo

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    101

    Attached Files:

    nealtw and oldognewtrick like this.
  14. May 16, 2018 at 3:05 AM #14

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    I'm typing on an Apple elbo, does that count? ;)
    Made a little more progress over the last few days. Added a sweeper upper tube for that last bit of dust I can never get picked up off the floor.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 16, 2018 at 3:12 AM
  15. May 16, 2018 at 3:08 AM #15

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    I ground the center divider out of schedule 40 couplers so sewer couplers would slide all the way though. They made handy quick couplers to take the barrel out of the loop for dumping.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. May 16, 2018 at 3:12 AM #16

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    Got the miter saw up and running. Just have to run conduit for the remote 3 way switches for it and the table saw. I can breath easy, now that the miter saw is no longer blowing dust around the shop.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. May 16, 2018 at 3:18 AM #17

    nealtw

    nealtw

    nealtw

    Contractor retired

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    23,944
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    They make a remote controls for that.
     
  18. May 16, 2018 at 3:44 AM #18

    Gary

    Gary

    Gary

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    281
    Yea, I know, but I'm just an analogy guy, trying to muttle thorough in a digital world. I looked at those and decided to just hard wire a couple 3 way switches.
     
    nealtw likes this.

Share This Page