Table Saw Dust Collector

Help Support House Repair Talk:

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
I've been procrastinating about doing this for years. I finally got tired enough of cleaning the shop only to have saw dust on the floor immediately after sweeping. Actually got this idea from my neighbor a few years ago.
I'm close to done, ran out of time tonight. I think I'll use it for awhile to see how it works, I may build another hopper on the back side of the box to catch dust blowing out the back.
 

Attachments

elbo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
239
Reaction score
109
I did something very similar. Except, I replaced the metal stand with one I made of plywood and removed the tray from the bottom of the saw that the mfgr. made to connect a vacuum . the new stand is square and on casters. I made a drawer to fit in the stand under the saw, and pull it out to get rid of the sawdust, and cutoffs that slip past the blade insert. It works great and I'm sure yours will also. An added bonus is that it makes it really easy to clean the trunion area under the saw table using compressed air
If I ever get off my backside I'll post some photos of it as well as other modifications that I made
 

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
Yea, I think my neighbor went the plywood cabinet route. By the time I'm done, it might have been faster to go that way. I cut some parts out on the CNC tonight, but ran out of bolts, so I'm done for today. Decided to add a couple rollers on the out feed side as part of the hopper. I don't get a lot of dust out the back, relative to the rest of the saw anyway, so it won't get closed in too much. I'd like to keep the motor out in the open as much as possible.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
I may put a bung in the dust box for those times when I do a lot of sawing, but most of the time it's just a cut or two and then it gets pushed off into the corner. As long as I can catch most of the dust, I'll be happy. I have a jet vac in the CNC shop, but that's a stationary machine and it makes a lot of dust.
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,769
Reaction score
3,395
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
I may put a bung in the dust box for those times when I do a lot of sawing, but most of the time it's just a cut or two and then it gets pushed off into the corner. As long as I can catch most of the dust, I'll be happy. I have a jet vac in the CNC shop, but that's a stationary machine and it makes a lot of dust.
I googled jet vac and found this guy.
upload_2018-4-3_19-57-43.jpeg
 

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
One thing led to another & today I built a couple cyclone dust separators. Decided I may as well put a vac on the table saw. One for the CNC (different building) and I bought second Jet vac for the shop table saw, Miter saw & hand tools.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
I cut some circles out of aluminum sign scrap for the tops & bottoms of the separators. I'll connect a ground wire to one of the ready rods for static control.
 

Attachments

tuffy

well-known member
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
349
Reaction score
162
Location
kirksville missouri
That is just plain awesome especially the way you engraved your logo and name on them. Is there any thing you cant make?
 

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
Thanks Tuffy. I can't make apple pies. ;)
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,769
Reaction score
3,395
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
Got the miter saw up and running. Just have to run conduit for the remote 3 way switches for it and the table saw. I can breath easy, now that the miter saw is no longer blowing dust around the shop.
They make a remote controls for that.
 

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
They make a remote controls for that.
Yea, I know, but I'm just an analogy guy, trying to muttle thorough in a digital world. I looked at those and decided to just hard wire a couple 3 way switches.
 

Gary

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
671
Reaction score
471
I spent the day making a hose rack. I could've gone to the hardware store and bought something that would have worked, but what's the fun in that? Ceiling fans & lights are on switches behind the rack. I can still reach them o.k., but I'm thinking it might be a little tough in the dark. So, I plan to make a junction box out of the existing box and move the switches to the panel above the hoses. There's a punch list of other things to do, but It's getting close. The 4" flex hose is for the table saw. It's constantly being moved around os it needs to be mobile. The black 1- 7/8" hose is for hand tools like the belt & orbital sanders.
Back to real work tomorrow.
 

Attachments

2
Top