Terminating wires

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

swimmer_spe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
884
Reaction score
159
This house had a hot tub outside.There is a dedicated breaker for it. Below the deck is the wires and a disconnect box. I think that some outdoor plugs are also off this run.

Without an electician doing it, what is a safe way to terminate the wires such that it is safe to turn on the power to the run and that the water/snow/ice does not corrode it?
 

Snoonyb

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,859
Reaction score
1,086
Well, tell us more.
Are the conductors encased?
A. In what material?
Are you sure that there are in fact additional plug circuits and how many?
A. How are those conductors encased?
 

swimmer_spe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
884
Reaction score
159
Well, tell us more.
Are the conductors encased?
A. In what material?
Are you sure that there are in fact additional plug circuits and how many?
A. How are those conductors encased?
It looks like BX wire that is encased in a rubber coating.

I am not sure, but they are the only things not working in our house and that is the only breaker that is off.
 

Snoonyb

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,859
Reaction score
1,086
Well, since you don't want to test for viability, how long have the circuits been there and when was the last time they were active?

As I'm not familiar with plastic coated BX, could you provide a photo, including any present terminations, and associated "J" boxes?
 

swimmer_spe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
884
Reaction score
159
Well, since you don't want to test for viability, how long have the circuits been there and when was the last time they were active?

As I'm not familiar with plastic coated BX, could you provide a photo, including any present terminations, and associated "J" boxes?

Something like that.

I do not know how long it has been there and I do not know how long since it was shut off. I think it was shut off simply due to them getting rid of the hot tub.
 

Snoonyb

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,859
Reaction score
1,086
SO, a store post, is an actual substitute for an on-site photo, really!

So, how about some actually on-site photos and "J" boxes?
 

afjes_2016

Established Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2016
Messages
692
Reaction score
314
swimmer_spe
I agree with snoonyb. If you want good and accurate advice it is best you provide some actual pictures instead of a store/item link. We would rather not guess and give you incorrect advice.
 

Hamberg

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
163
Reaction score
70
Location
Horsham PA
Not that it matters much but based on the link from the OP, they may be "up north"!? Like @Snoonyb said, we really need some pics to see what you are working on.

If, in fact, there are multiple circuits in the "box" there would have to be 2+ breakers. A hot tub would be a minimum 40A (more likely, 50A) breaker and, if up to current code, the other feed would be 20A.

If there is only one breaker in the sub/disconnect then the other, outdoor, outlets are not run from that box.
 

bud16415

Fixer Upper
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
6,910
Reaction score
2,703
Location
Erie, PA
From what we know so far a hot tub disconnect outside will be a GFCI disconnect and may have one or two breakers depending on the manufacture of the tub. Mine has two one for the heater 20a and one for the rest of the pumps and stuff 30a. So it is possible when they removed the tub someone went off the 20a side for some outdoor outlets.



The GFCI disconnect should not be under a deck unless it is easily accessible from where the hot tub was but not so close it could be reached from inside the tub. Code says 5’+ and in a line of sight with the tub.



If the tub was properly removed the wires should have been removed inside the disconnect and the wire taken out with the tub. The wrong way would be to leave the wires and have them wire nutted or taped up where the tub was. If the wires are not there then the only thing that should have been done is the knock out hole where they exited the disconnect should have had a cap installed.



With the main breaker feeding the disconnect turned off you can open the box and remove the safety panel and then take a picture of the guts and we can tell you what you have.
 

swimmer_spe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
884
Reaction score
159
Not that it matters much but based on the link from the OP, they may be "up north"!? Like @Snoonyb said, we really need some pics to see what you are working on.

If, in fact, there are multiple circuits in the "box" there would have to be 2+ breakers. A hot tub would be a minimum 40A (more likely, 50A) breaker and, if up to current code, the other feed would be 20A.

If there is only one breaker in the sub/disconnect then the other, outdoor, outlets are not run from that box.

... I'll crawl under the deck.

From what we know so far a hot tub disconnect outside will be a GFCI disconnect and may have one or two breakers depending on the manufacture of the tub. Mine has two one for the heater 20a and one for the rest of the pumps and stuff 30a. So it is possible when they removed the tub someone went off the 20a side for some outdoor outlets.



The GFCI disconnect should not be under a deck unless it is easily accessible from where the hot tub was but not so close it could be reached from inside the tub. Code says 5’+ and in a line of sight with the tub.



If the tub was properly removed the wires should have been removed inside the disconnect and the wire taken out with the tub. The wrong way would be to leave the wires and have them wire nutted or taped up where the tub was. If the wires are not there then the only thing that should have been done is the knock out hole where they exited the disconnect should have had a cap installed.



With the main breaker feeding the disconnect turned off you can open the box and remove the safety panel and then take a picture of the guts and we can tell you what you have.

Will do.
 

kok328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
3,243
Reaction score
386
Well, since you don't want to test for viability, how long have the circuits been there and when was the last time they were active?

As I'm not familiar with plastic coated BX, could you provide a photo, including any present terminations, and associated "J" boxes?
OP is describing Seal Tight conduit. Used for outdoor/moisture resistant, wet location applications.
Turn off the breaker and remove it from the panel, it doesn't have the right specs to be reused for anything. Use the space for a couple of 20A circuits/outlets.
 

Eddie_T

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
1,729
Reaction score
1,180
OP is describing Seal Tight conduit. Used for outdoor/moisture resistant, wet location applications.
Turn off the breaker and remove it from the panel, it doesn't have the right specs to be reused for anything. Use the space for a couple of 20A circuits/outlets.
What specs would be wrong for re-purposing?
 

Eddie_T

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
1,729
Reaction score
1,180
I’m assuming it is the 50a current rating and downstream having 20a outlets protected by it.
The 50a current rating wouldn't be a problem if fed by a properly sized breaker. I guess the only problem might be whether it's configured as a branch circuit or sub panel.
 

swimmer_spe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
884
Reaction score
159
OP is describing Seal Tight conduit. Used for outdoor/moisture resistant, wet location applications.
Turn off the breaker and remove it from the panel, it doesn't have the right specs to be reused for anything. Use the space for a couple of 20A circuits/outlets.

Our plan is to get a hot tub one day, so really, this is just a long term temporary thing till we get one.
 

kok328

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
3,243
Reaction score
386
Our plan is to get a hot tub one day, so really, this is just a long term temporary thing till we get one.
Sounds like your wired so you can't have 120V 20A outlets unless you power the 240V 50A circuit. I'd remove the load leads for the 50A so nothing to worry about (wrie nuts, electrical tape, corrosion, etc).
Post a pic if you can.
 

swimmer_spe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
884
Reaction score
159
Sounds like your wired so you can't have 120V 20A outlets unless you power the 240V 50A circuit. I'd remove the load leads for the 50A so nothing to worry about (wrie nuts, electrical tape, corrosion, etc).
Post a pic if you can.

I'll post a picture when it drys out. We just had a good rainstorm blow through and it will be quite wet under there.
 

Latest posts

Top