Trane XL1200 inside blower won't work

Discussion in 'HVAC' started by John1, Aug 10, 2011.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Aug 10, 2011 #1

    John1

    John1

    John1

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My blower on my furnace (Trane XE90) won't come on when the A/C (Trane XL1200) is on. If I turn the A/C off and put the fan to manual, the fan comes on with no problem. The condencer on the A/C unit will run, but not the inside fan on the furnace. Do I need to replace the board? Need help
     
  2. Aug 11, 2011 #2

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,797
    Likes Received:
    264
    Possibly a problem with the thermostat.
    As far as I know, the thermostat will send a signal for fan through the same relay on the board when switched to fan "on" versus fan "auto".
     
  3. Aug 11, 2011 #3

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Most of the electronic boards today, The green post is for manual fan runs the fan on a low speed like the heating speed. When you turn on cooling, the power comes back to the y post which goes to the condenser and also to a different relay that starts the blower on a faster speed. So i would say you have a bad board. Paul
     
  4. Aug 11, 2011 #4

    John1

    John1

    John1

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went and bought a new one and replaced it, but that wasn't the answer. Same issues,
    thanks for suggesting
     
  5. Aug 11, 2011 #5

    John1

    John1

    John1

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul, Thanks for the insight. How much of a problem is it to change the board? It is the UNIVERSAL HOT SURFACE IGNITION CONTROL MODULE (50A55-843) that needs to be replaced.
     
  6. Aug 11, 2011 #6

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you can let the board hang on the wires and then put the new board on furnace , then install one wire at a time. If you get those wires crossed you will have a real problem. Paul
     
  7. Aug 11, 2011 #7

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you send me some pic. of your controls.
    paulm989@hotmail.com Paul
     

Share This Page