water softener

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dthornton

inspector gadget
Reaction score
I bought a house in SW Iowa - the water is pretty hard -the sinks and tubs have red stains and the faucets have white crystals on them. I bought a water softener (we are having the house COMPLETELY replumbed, with PEX tubing). I do trust my plumber; however, he recommends only hooking up the softener to the water heater. I think that it should be hooked up to the whole house (EXCEPT: the outside faucets and the fridge/icemaker water [which has its own filter]). Any professionals have any input? We don't want buildup in our washer (we only wash clothes in cold h2o) or our kitchen faucet and stainless steel pans, but if it's not needed, it's not needed. Appreciate any input - especially those who have real experience with this. Thanks!!! :)

I'm no expert on this, but that doesn't make sense to me because then the only water being treated by the water softener is your hot water...or at least that's the way I would understand it. We recently purchased a house and had a water softener co. out to demo their system and the way they were going to install it was to connect the water softener loop into the plumbing right as the water enters the house, so all water entering the house will be treated.

I know people who only use a softener for the hot water. It's usually a restaurant that wants their glasses sparkling clean. This saves salt. I would hook it up to the whole inside of the house.

I don't think your going to be happy with the softeners ability to remove iron (the red stains you mentioned).