Water softner not effective

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum' started by jjohnston, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. Jun 13, 2012 #1

    jjohnston

    jjohnston

    jjohnston

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have a water softener. when I Installed it I found the water hardness was at 15 gpg. When I called the city they said between 20-27. so I set the softener to 30. I have always suspected it wasn't doing much, but we do go through salt (very slowly). so I had the water tested, and it says its 280 (z) which from what I've read is hard. why is the softner not softening? I double checked that it wasn't set to bypass... when I run the water in the house I see the softener showing water is going through...
     
  2. Jun 13, 2012 #2

    Speedbump

    Speedbump

    Speedbump

    Water well etc.

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    72
    Sounds like you bought a water boss. If the 280 is ppm, that equates to 16 grains hard. This is simple to resolve for a real softener. Not knowing what unit you have for sure or what it's specs are; I don't see how I could tell you why it isn't working.
     
  3. Jun 14, 2012 #3

    jjohnston

    jjohnston

    jjohnston

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh, its a whirlpool 30,000 grain. WHES30
     
  4. Jun 14, 2012 #4

    Speedbump

    Speedbump

    Speedbump

    Water well etc.

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    72
    I'm not familiar with Whirlpool softeners. Have you tested the water after the softener to see how much hardness is left over if any?
     

Share This Page