Whirlpool Icemaker won't cycle.

Discussion in 'General Appliance Discussion' started by wilbev, May 27, 2012.

  1. May 27, 2012 #1

    wilbev

    wilbev

    wilbev

    New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't get my icemaker to cycle and drop the ice. This is about a 10 year old Whirlpool side-by-side refrigerator. I have replaced the ice maker with a brand new one and even added a new solenoid water value. I have tried the jumper to manually start the icemaker and it does eventually drop the ice, however it does seem to struggle on it. Could this mean the Electronic control board is bad? The bottom of the ice maker tray is cold.

    The refrigerator is about 10 years old and it's model is: ED2GTQXKQOO
     
  2. May 28, 2012 #2

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hi,

    To correct this problem?

    The icemaker didn't start up right away when you bypassed the thermostat to cycle the icemaker on?

    What electronic control?...yours doesn't appear to have one.

    Has the freezer temp been checked? Needs to get below 15ºF before the icemaker will run.

    Should be until the icemaker cycles, then warms up to help drop out the cubes.

    jeff.
     
  3. May 28, 2012 #3

    wilbev

    wilbev

    wilbev

    New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, to correct the problem.


    It definitely starts right away but I said it struggles a little bit trying to break up the ice, however the last time I manually cycled it, it didn't seem to struggle, just dropped the ice within a minute or 2.

    Yes, I realize that now that I don't have a electronic control.
    After manually cycling the ice gets made in less than 2 hours, so I don't think this is the problem. It does seem to warm up when I manually cycle it.
    HTML:
    Should be until the icemaker cycles, then warms up to help drop out the cubes.
    Yes, it does seem to warm up when I manually cycle it. Maybe it's just a bad ice maker I got? Not sure what else it could be. Power is needed to the ice maker to even manually cycle it, correct?
     
  4. May 29, 2012 #4

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    If the new one is struggling to go, yes that would be a very good possibility.

    Yes.

    [​IMG]
    Replacement 8 cube icemaker kit, Manufacturer Number 4317943

    jeff.
     

Share This Page