why fresh food compartment not get cold

Discussion in 'General Appliance Discussion' started by jgy2001, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Aug 28, 2012 #1

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a 2004 GE side by side 25 ft3 refrigerator.
    The freezer side works fine and get cold. I check for ice and frost and clean up.
    The small air duct between the freezer to the fresh food compartment is open and clear.
    But the fresh food compartment does not get cold and stay above 50F.

    How does cold air pass from freezer to fresh food compartment size?
     
  2. Aug 28, 2012 #2

    woodchuck

    woodchuck

    woodchuck

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    26
    There is a fan in the freezer behind the condenser coil that blows air from the freezer to fridge. It should be running when the compressor is running except that some will cut off when the door is open. You should be able to hear it from inside the freezer. Some fans can be accessed at the top of the freezer behind the removable light cover etc at the top. Otherwise you remove the rear cover inside the freezer.
     
  3. Aug 28, 2012 #3

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hi,

    Model#?
    http://www.applianceaid.com/model-number.php Some model# helps.

    Frost free failure ( frost blocks the fna from blowing the cold air over ), evaporator fan motor ( in the freezer ) is not working, light(s) staying on in the fresh food section when the door is closed, air ducts iced or frosted over are common trouble makers....would have to be investigated.

    http://www.applianceaid.com/refrigerator-not-cold-enough.php
    Some simple things to check.

    jeff.
     
  4. Aug 28, 2012 #4

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    GE model GSS25IFP CC

    How can I test this evaporator fan working properly? Is this fan suppose to stop when I open the freezer door? If I tape the freeze door switch off, should this fan run regardless door open or not?

    When I unplug the evaporator fan cable, what voltage should I get from the main control board (with both the freezer door open and close) - wire color are blue, white, yellow & red?

    http://www.appliancepartspros.com/partsearch/model.aspx?model_id=5214106

    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  5. Aug 28, 2012 #5

    woodchuck

    woodchuck

    woodchuck

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    26
    It the compressor is running, the fan should be running. If it's not tape the door switch like you said and it should run. If it is running, the condenser coil is probably iced up indicating a defrost problem. You can manually defrost the coil with a hairdryer and will run ok for a week or so while you work on the defrost system.(defrost thermostat,defrost heater and defrost timer or module)
     
  6. Aug 29, 2012 #6

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    A copy from your A1appliance posting...

    Hi,

    Appears to be missing a digit.

    Where and what did you check?

    They where plugged up with something?

    Is it running?

    Yes, normally the fan motor shuts off when the door is opened.

    Nope, the fan motors ( condensor and evaporator ) and compressor will do on and off togetherwhen cycling on the control.

    Should be 12 volts DC.

    jeff.
     
  7. Aug 29, 2012 #7

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for your response. The model number is GE GSS25IFPH

    The evaporator fan is 12VDC. I open the freezer panel and the evaporator fan is blowing fine. The evaporator coil is working and free of ice. The freezer side is working fine.

    The upper air duct damper is working (actually I can discount and manually open the damper door to the fresh food compartment). The low return air duct is clear and open.

    Can you tell me where is the location of fresh food compartment temperature sensor?
     
  8. Aug 29, 2012 #8

    woodchuck

    woodchuck

    woodchuck

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    26
    Don't know about yours but lots of them just adjust the damper door to let more or less cold air in when you adjust the temp knob in the fridge. If you have a touch pad to adjust the fridge temp them you may have a sensor. Put your model number in at sears parts on line to see parts diagrams.
     
  9. Aug 30, 2012 #9

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    Beside the air damper, #242...

    [​IMG]

    Air is acually blowing out?

    If no, check the air return, any frost on the freezer back wall?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Temperature sensor (thermistor) Manufacturer Number WR55X10025

    jeff.
     
  10. Aug 30, 2012 #10

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I assume part number #242 is the temperature sensor.
    I toke out the air damper case and look for the temperature sensor.
    I cannot find it.
     
  11. Aug 31, 2012 #11

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
  12. Sep 1, 2012 #12

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    jgy2001

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    gave up, getting a new LG refrigerator
     
  13. Sep 1, 2012 #13

    jeff1

    jeff1

    jeff1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    34
    :(

    That will fix it ;)

    :eek:

    jeff.
     

Share This Page