Windows 7 help

Help Support House Repair Talk:

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,769
Reaction score
3,395
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
Ever since dial up days I have used AOL. They packed it up last month so now I am figuring out internet exploder.
The problem this week is all posted videos here just show up as a black screen. Anyone have any ideas what I am missing.

I have found a work around but that is a pain.:help:
 

Rusty

Flooring installer
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
82
Location
Missouri
Probably flash player. But to be honest, IE does not work well on groupbuilder forums.
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,769
Reaction score
3,395
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
Probably flash player. But to be honest, IE does not work well on groupbuilder forums.
That was a good call, There was no sign of adobe anywhere, even missing the install file that is supposed to be here but fortunately I have another hard drive with a copy of windows so I was able to steel the needed file and then down load Adobe, restart the computer and walla no change.:hide:
 

Steve123

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
178
Reaction score
69
I probably have same issue.
I watch YouTube videos all the time. Videos pop up and autostart on news stories all the time (I hate that).
But a YouTube link in a post normally shows up as a black square.
If you right-mouse-button, and click properties, you will see the URL, and then copy and paste it into browser to go to the video.

Few videos are Flash anymore. I am figuring its a security setting, but I am not inclined to lower my security settings.
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
1,211
Reaction score
74
Use Chrome or Firefox, IE has not improved much even with all the money they spend.
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,769
Reaction score
3,395
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
Use Chrome or Firefox, IE has not improved much even with all the money they spend.
Yes it does seem to be IE others bring them up
A thousand hoops just to find out you don't like a browser.
Exactly why I stayed with AOL for all those years.
 

Rusty

Flooring installer
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
82
Location
Missouri
You know what is odd, IE is the only one that supports flash player. FF and Chrome both dropped it. On Blackboard (college on-line lessons) they want you to use FF but it takes Flashplayer to run BB. It is a mess anymore.
 

slownsteady

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
1,310
Location
Sussex County, NJ
Microsoft is abandoning IE and moving to Edge. it's almost the same icon, so it is sometimes confusing. Neal, you may consider moving off of windows 7. That is also being phased out.
 

Rusty

Flooring installer
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
82
Location
Missouri
W10 is ok I guess, but still has a lot of bugs. I am still running W7 myself.
 

Rusty

Flooring installer
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
82
Location
Missouri
I looked at 10, that looked like the fix is worse than the problem.
I have one laptop w 8.1. I took the free upgrade to W10, and after 30 minutes reverted it back. 10 is horrible IMHO. My other laptops, including a refurbished one I just bought and I am on now, are all W7.
 

bud16415

Fixer Upper
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
5,581
Reaction score
1,978
Location
Erie, PA
I have one laptop w 8.1. I took the free upgrade to W10, and after 30 minutes reverted it back. 10 is horrible IMHO. My other laptops, including a refurbished one I just bought and I am on now, are all W7.
I did the exact same thing I think I lasted 45 minutes.

Neal.

I switched to chrome a year ago and all these problems went away. It is a simple down load and it will bring all your book marks over. Holly has an apple computer reminds me of windows10. Her dad came over as he has a new program where you map all the fields you farm in and then it shows you week by week rainfall and crop colors calculates acres and yields even ties into the GPS on the tractors when you plant and does all kinds of modern farmer stuff. He farms maybe 30-40 properties and he needed to map all this stuff in. They were out there for an hour trying to get apple safari to load this program and getting all kinds of errors. They called me out and I told them I know nothing about apple except the X to close a window is in the wrong corner. I said I have no idea if apple will allow chrome to run but I downloaded it and put it on in 3 minutes and the farm mapping thing popped right up and ran like a champ.

Just do chrome.
 

nealtw

Contractor retired
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
24,769
Reaction score
3,395
Location
Chiliwack BC Canada
I did the exact same thing I think I lasted 45 minutes.

Neal.

I switched to chrome a year ago and all these problems went away. It is a simple down load and it will bring all your book marks over. Holly has an apple computer reminds me of windows10. Her dad came over as he has a new program where you map all the fields you farm in and then it shows you week by week rainfall and crop colors calculates acres and yields even ties into the GPS on the tractors when you plant and does all kinds of modern farmer stuff. He farms maybe 30-40 properties and he needed to map all this stuff in. They were out there for an hour trying to get apple safari to load this program and getting all kinds of errors. They called me out and I told them I know nothing about apple except the X to close a window is in the wrong corner. I said I have no idea if apple will allow chrome to run but I downloaded it and put it on in 3 minutes and the farm mapping thing popped right up and ran like a champ.

Just do chrome.
I have chrome but it didn't look Neal friendly. Like anything else, you have to spend lot's of time to find you think something sticks.
 

Rusty

Flooring installer
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
82
Location
Missouri
Be careful with the latest version of FF, it messed up a bunch of computers.
 

slownsteady

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
1,310
Location
Sussex County, NJ
W10 ain't so bad. There are settings that can either make it feel like a tablet, (touchscreen friendly), or you can turn those off to get a more familiar setup.
 

Rusty

Flooring installer
Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,798
Reaction score
82
Location
Missouri
W10 ain't so bad. There are settings that can either make it feel like a tablet, (touchscreen friendly), or you can turn those off to get a more familiar setup.
I like it with it ALL turned off.:rofl:
 
2
Top