wireless router=most range?

Discussion in 'General Appliance Discussion' started by surfsalterpath, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. Jan 27, 2012 #1

    surfsalterpath

    surfsalterpath

    surfsalterpath

    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Feb 2, 2012 #2

    Leo1981

    Leo1981

    Leo1981

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont know about any special techniques but i bought a cheap signal booster from ebay and thats being working fine for me. as for the routers themselves aslong as you buy a decent brand they are all pretty similar in regards to range, so i wouldnt worry about buying the best of the best.

    hope this helps,

    Leo
     
  3. Feb 7, 2012 #3

    toshfive

    toshfive

    toshfive

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    how about just adding access point?
     
  4. Feb 7, 2012 #4

    isola96

    isola96

    isola96

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    7
    You need to get a repeater and put it the farthest part of the house this will take your signal and intensify it.
     
  5. Feb 16, 2012 #5

    tripflex

    tripflex

    tripflex

    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the N900 I just purchased about a week or two ago. Works VERY well and the range is definitely an improvement. Netgear has used some quality equipment including internal "antennas". I purchased this device as it has the 600mhz compared to the slower versions as i plan on eventually upgrading to DD-WRT firmware once all the kinks have been worked out.

    Look into DD-WRT firmware which you can use to flash older routers, you can then adjust the power output on the device.
     
  6. Oct 26, 2012 #6

    frankflynn

    frankflynn

    frankflynn

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm a big Apple fan and I have the Time Capsule (wireless router with a hard disk that back's up all the computers in the house). And I have an Airport express which is a stand alone access point or a network extender. They work very well together for both Mac's and PC (or smart phones or TV's...)
     
  7. Oct 26, 2012 #7

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Wuzzat?

    Well-Known Member Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    175
    Twice the Effective Radiated Power will give you 1.4x the range, but if you ask for the ERP the vendors of these products may give you the "I don't know" answer.
    The rebuttal is "I respectfully request that you immediately direct me to someone who does know the answer."
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  8. Nov 6, 2012 #8

    Wraith_Daquell

    Wraith_Daquell

    Wraith_Daquell

    Christian

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a little complicated, but much cheaper and more effective in the long run, if you use dd-wrt on two netgear routers. You can just buy two regular routers that are compatible (you can check compatibility here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database), install dd-wrt, and set one up as a repeater or bridge. Works like a charm, cheaper, and you're not stuck with a useless range repeater... you have two full routers.
     

Share This Page