Wiring new 3 wire electric cooktop...help.

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by srbrown73, Jan 21, 2012.

Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
  1. Jan 21, 2012 #1

    srbrown73

    srbrown73

    srbrown73

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had an old GE electric cooktop that I'm replacing with a new Whirlpool. The old cooktop controls are on the range hood. there are 19 wires at the connection:
    5 red, 5 white, 4 yellow, 4 black, and 1 blue. (see photo) I started to cut the wires before figuring out how to do it. the new cooktop has 1 black, 1 red, and 1 copper wire.

    How in the world should I wire this up?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    photo(2).JPG

    photo(3).JPG
     
  2. Jan 21, 2012 #2

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,797
    Likes Received:
    264
    The range hood will no longer control the new stove.
    The wires don't look like they are big enough to handle the electrical current.
    I think that you'll find that the range hood is powered by the same combination of wires that your new stove needs. You will have to attach your new stove to the main feeds for the range hood (not the control wires).
     
  3. Jan 22, 2012 #3

    srbrown73

    srbrown73

    srbrown73

    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help. Yeah, I'm ok with losing the range hood controls. I'll back track to find the main feed.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. Jan 24, 2012 #4

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    speedy petey

    Lic.Electrical Contractor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    44
    Are you in the US/Canada? Your posts are impossible to understand. They read like poor translations.
     
  5. Apr 27, 2012 #5

    thereza

    thereza

    thereza

    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think he's saying 'RTFM'

    -r
     

Share This Page