Works then does not work

Discussion in 'Electrical and Wiring' started by a1aprt, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. Oct 15, 2011 #1

    a1aprt

    a1aprt

    a1aprt

    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an electrical outlet that according to my tester light everything is correct. I try to plug our fireplace blower in and it does not work. I can run an extension cord to another outlet and the blower works fine.
     
  2. Oct 15, 2011 #2

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    paul52446m

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Electric it interesting to work with. If you have a hot line and a earth ground,
    it will lit up your test lite. and show you that you have 110 volts. But you need the power co.s neutral and a hot line to run a motor. Check for lose wires. sounds like you are losing your neutral wire. Paul
     
  3. Oct 15, 2011 #3

    kok328

    kok328

    kok328

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    249
    Depending on the type of tester you have it should read "Open Neutral". If you are using a voltmeter and have an open neutral, you will show 110V between hot and ground but, not between hot and neutral.
    As Paul indicates, check the outlet for burnt or loose wires.
    If you find nothing there, then you will have to trace it back to the next connection that the outlet is linked to.
     
  4. Oct 16, 2011 #4

    BridgeMan

    BridgeMan

    BridgeMan

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    80
    And of course, cut the power to the outlet before pulling the receptacle--little "tickles" can become big jolts in a hurry!
     
  5. Oct 17, 2011 #5

    JoeD

    JoeD

    JoeD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    273
    What type of tester are you using? What does it read when you try to run the blower?
     
  6. Oct 19, 2011 #6

    houseDIY2312

    houseDIY2312

    houseDIY2312

    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Definitely sounds like a loose wire. Perhaps, the wire engages when you plug the item in because there is pressure. This can be dangerous! I would take the advice above and cut the power to inspect!
     
  7. Oct 23, 2011 #7

    Raindem

    Raindem

    Raindem

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    13
    Do any other appliances work in that plug? Try something low draw like a table lamp.
     

Share This Page