Zinsco Electrical Panel question

Help Support House Repair Talk:

nathan smith

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
newport, OR
In the panel foto below, there's a 70 amp breaker at the top right with no specific assigned circuit. It had been referred to as a disconnect, and had been blowing occasionally until the wires to it were "rerouted".
What might have been the purpose of this 70 amp breaker?
Electric Panel.JPG
 

jeffmattero76

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
235
Reaction score
89
If you turn that breaker off, I would expect that all of the circuits in that panel would be off.

In other words, that "main disconnect" allows power to go to all of the circuits in the panel.
 

Snoonyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
3,921
Reaction score
749
Who "rerouted" the wires, and where did they reroute them too?

Remove the dead front panel, (that which covers the breakers ), so we can see what's going on inside.
 

hornetd

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
302
Reaction score
162

nathan smith

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
newport, OR
Could that have been the main when power was first installed and then when power was upgraded (there clearly is more than 70 amps of power being used thru that entire panel), leaving that main only controlling the few original breakers?
 

JoeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
1,696
Reaction score
319
The main breaker will be the supply to the whole panel.
 

WyrTwister

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
340
Reaction score
60
You have been advised to turn that Circuit Breaker off and see if the whole panel is dead . That is all that is needed .

If you do not wish to do so , hire a licensed electrician .

No point in further discussion until that has been accomplished .

Or forget about it and go back to your life .

Wyr
God bless
 

jmg1213

Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
2
Unless I was an electrician or very familiar with this brand of breaker box, I wouldn't touch it. I agree with toyotaas, get it replaced/upgraded.
 
Top