DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Gauge of wire for 15 A extension cord


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-22-2017, 05:55 AM  
afjes_2016
Established Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: , Northeast PA - USA
Posts: 212
Liked 92 Times on 76 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Default

Quote:
As far as I know, the outdoor plug is on it's own circuit.
If you are going to plug the extension cord into an outside receptacle do you know if it is GFCI protected?

If it is then fine. If not either put in a GFCI receptacle or use one of these (plug-in GFCI adapter) for your own personal safety. Plug it into the outside receptacle and then plug the extension cord into it. There are many on the market just find one that is good quality; spend a few dollars more for better personal safety.


__________________

To the OP (O.riginal P.oster to this thread/topic).

If at any time you do not feel confident enough to perform a trouble shooting method that I suggest or feel you may not have the experience or comfort level to do so please ask questions before proceeding.
Electricity is dangerous and if not handled properly can cause serious injury or worse!
afjes_2016 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 10:26 AM  
swimmer_spe
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sudbury, ON, Ontario
Posts: 280
Liked 56 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 44

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by afjes_2016 View Post
If you are going to plug the extension cord into an outside receptacle do you know if it is GFCI protected?

If it is then fine. If not either put in a GFCI receptacle or use one of these (plug-in GFCI adapter) for your own personal safety. Plug it into the outside receptacle and then plug the extension cord into it. There are many on the market just find one that is good quality; spend a few dollars more for better personal safety.
It is a GFCI plug


swimmer_spe is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 11:15 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 22,882
Liked 2785 Times on 2450 Posts
Likes Given: 4576

Default

The compresser may give you trouble on a gfci
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 07:32 AM  
swimmer_spe
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sudbury, ON, Ontario
Posts: 280
Liked 56 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 44

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
The compresser may give you trouble on a gfci
It didn't while building the walls of my garage.


swimmer_spe is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Proper wire gauge for subpanel rockgod Electrical and Wiring 7 09-03-2016 06:54 AM
Help with new dryer cord grounding wire newlygrad Electrical and Wiring 3 07-05-2016 06:07 AM
wire the light fixture into an extension cord? theayale Walls and Ceilings 3 11-29-2012 11:26 AM
Black or White wire to wide blade of ext. cord? Jaz Electrical and Wiring 2 10-19-2010 08:01 PM
Dryer extension cord Outbacker Electrical and Wiring 13 04-21-2009 12:39 AM