DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Complete attic rewire




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2010, 11:47 PM  
sailor86
Member
registry_dropdown_18408_51827
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dallas-Ft. Worth, Texas
Posts: 75
Default

For future reference, how many things can you put on a 15 amp breaker? It's been a long time since I actually did the work.


sailor86 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 01:35 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_51840
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,062
Liked 125 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

1800 watts.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:15 PM  
sailor86
Member
registry_dropdown_18408_51841
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dallas-Ft. Worth, Texas
Posts: 75
Default

How many things do you all put on a 15-amp breaker?

Last edited by sailor86; 12-06-2010 at 08:39 AM.
sailor86 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:30 PM  
GBR
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_13564_51855
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 356
Liked 26 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Powered by Google Docs

Gary
GBR is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 08:40 AM  
sailor86
Member
registry_dropdown_18408_51863
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dallas-Ft. Worth, Texas
Posts: 75
Default

I am reposting this question just to make sure it's noticed. How many things do you all put on a 15-amp breaker?
sailor86 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 03:02 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
registry_dropdown_722_51878
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

As with most things electrical, there is no one-size-fits-all answer.

How many can you? As many as you want in a residential application.
There are lots of codes and determining factors that would limit the number of items on a circuit in a residence though.

How many would I? Typically between 6-10 "items".
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:13 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_51883
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,062
Liked 125 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Limit is 12 outlets on a circuit in Canada.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Bedroom Circuts and home rewire ISUzj Electrical and Wiring 2 10-20-2010 09:48 AM
New to the Board - Complete Overhaul Joshua731 Introductions 1 10-13-2007 09:31 AM
To rewire a house? pwaltrip Electrical and Wiring 2 09-06-2007 04:45 PM
Beam project complete?? cibula11 Flooring 20 02-17-2007 05:46 AM
Questions after a home rewire Pastey Electrical and Wiring 5 01-03-2007 11:13 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS