DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Grounded Wiring?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2011, 10:42 AM  
Jlundstrom
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_21891_55072
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 1
Default Grounded Wiring?

We're in the process of buying a house and was informed by the appraiser that the kitchen and bathroom will need GFCI outlets. This has us a little worried because the house was built in 1964, and we're not sure if the wiring is grounded. (We neglected to look at the other outlets the times we were in there. We're still kicking ourselves about it)

If it's not, what do we have to do? If it is, is it as simple as just replacing the outlets?


Jlundstrom is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 12:31 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_55073
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,313
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

A GFCI outlet does not have to be grounded in order to function properly.

Therefore, it is as you mentioned; simply replace the outlet with a GFIC outlet.


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:44 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_55093
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,467
Liked 73 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

And if you want to find out if the other outlets are ground go buy a simple plug in tester for about $7.00 at Lowes or HD.
There's going to be a sticker that comes in the GFI box that will say something like GFI protected but no ground. It needs to go on the outlet cover.
If you pull out the outlet from the wall first make sure the breakers off, If there's two sets of wires attached to the back of the outlet your going to have to find out which wires are supplying the power to the outlet (line) and which one are what's feeding the outlets down stream, (load)
Your going to have to deconnect all the wires, make sure none of them are touching, turn the power back on and use a volt ohm meter on any white and black wire to see where the incoming power is coming from.
There's going to be a sticker over the bottom leads on the GFI. The incoming power goes to the top of the outlet marked line and the down line wires go to the load side.
White wires go on the silver screw, ground goes to the green and black goes to the gold screw.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 11:59 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_55102
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,054
Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Have the electrical inspected by an electrician before you purchase. He can confirm the grounding situation.
GFCI may not be present but they are not required either. The house is grandfathered to 1964 code.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Fusebox neutral bar grounded? Correct? Sh3ppard Electrical and Wiring 4 02-20-2011 07:58 AM
help with 3 way wiring ubonline Electrical and Wiring 8 06-20-2010 11:23 PM
How do I replace 2-prong cord with grounded cord? SphericalCamel Electrical and Wiring 9 02-05-2010 09:10 AM
Newbie to put in ceiling fan! - wiring not grounded? operaflute Electrical and Wiring 6 03-18-2007 10:50 PM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 02:14 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS