DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Grounded Wiring?

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2011, 10:42 AM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 1
Default Grounded Wiring?

We're in the process of buying a house and was informed by the appraiser that the kitchen and bathroom will need GFCI outlets. This has us a little worried because the house was built in 1964, and we're not sure if the wiring is grounded. (We neglected to look at the other outlets the times we were in there. We're still kicking ourselves about it)

If it's not, what do we have to do? If it is, is it as simple as just replacing the outlets?

Jlundstrom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 12:31 PM  
Supporting Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,375
Liked 152 Times on 129 Posts
Likes Given: 71


A GFCI outlet does not have to be grounded in order to function properly.

Therefore, it is as you mentioned; simply replace the outlet with a GFIC outlet.

kok328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:44 AM  
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,543
Liked 98 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 2


And if you want to find out if the other outlets are ground go buy a simple plug in tester for about $7.00 at Lowes or HD.
There's going to be a sticker that comes in the GFI box that will say something like GFI protected but no ground. It needs to go on the outlet cover.
If you pull out the outlet from the wall first make sure the breakers off, If there's two sets of wires attached to the back of the outlet your going to have to find out which wires are supplying the power to the outlet (line) and which one are what's feeding the outlets down stream, (load)
Your going to have to deconnect all the wires, make sure none of them are touching, turn the power back on and use a volt ohm meter on any white and black wire to see where the incoming power is coming from.
There's going to be a sticker over the bottom leads on the GFI. The incoming power goes to the top of the outlet marked line and the down line wires go to the load side.
White wires go on the silver screw, ground goes to the green and black goes to the gold screw.
joecaption is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 11:59 AM  
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,133
Liked 153 Times on 125 Posts
Likes Given: 5


Have the electrical inspected by an electrician before you purchase. He can confirm the grounding situation.
GFCI may not be present but they are not required either. The house is grandfathered to 1964 code.
JoeD is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Fusebox neutral bar grounded? Correct? Sh3ppard Electrical and Wiring 4 02-20-2011 08:58 AM
help with 3 way wiring ubonline Electrical and Wiring 8 06-20-2010 11:23 PM
How do I replace 2-prong cord with grounded cord? SphericalCamel Electrical and Wiring 9 02-05-2010 10:10 AM
Newbie to put in ceiling fan! - wiring not grounded? operaflute Electrical and Wiring 6 03-18-2007 10:50 PM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 03:14 PM

Newest Threads