DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Switch installation question




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2006, 04:47 PM  
fordprefect
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Switch installation question

Hi everyone!

First let me say that although I an electrical and computer engineering student (NTUA, Greece), I have been so focused in the "computer" part I have very little knowledge of electrology and even that is mostly theoretical. I do know how to use some very basic tools (multimeter, which I currently don't have, and, ahem, screwdriver) and once I put together a filter circuit that almost worked, but beyond that it wouldn't be exaggerating to say my only practical experience in such matters has been changing light bulbs.

Now, my problem is this:
I am currently staying in Chisinau, Moldova, which is a former Soviet Union country. In our kitchen there is a light as well as a ventilator. They are both controlled by what I believe was meant to be a common DPST switch.
When I arrived there was only a hole in the wall with three identical (well, one is a bit longer but I doubt that's significant) white cables in it. The light was turned on by sticking your hand in and connecting two of these cables (the short ones, actually). If you wanted the ventilator to function you connected the third (long) cable as well.
Not very safe, I thought, so with my limited knowledge I successfully (!) installed a two-button switch to control the light. I left out the third (long) cable, so the second button does nothing and there is now no way to turn on the ventilator.
I now want to connect the third cable too and make the switch fully functional.
This is my guess at what's going on inside the walls (maybe "neutral" and "hot" should be inversed):



Connections AC and ABC have been tested and BC is also presumed to be safe.
What I am concerned about and the reason why I am hesitating is this:
I have no way of telling which cable is C (it is logical it should be the middle one, but is that a rule?) and which is A, so it is possible A and B could be accidentally connected.
My question (finally!) is this:
Is it safe to connect AB (or BC, remember I can't tell) and see what happens?
If I understand correctly C is "hot" while A and B are "neutral" and you need two "hot" cables to get something wrong. In any case it seems to me there is no way to get a "wrongly" closed circuit. At worst I'll end up with an open circuit.
Is this correct? Should I proceed through trial and error or should I get a multimeter and/or call a professional?

Many thanks in advance and sorry for the long post!
Your help is greatly appreciated!



__________________
fordprefect is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2006, 05:55 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

You can attach A and B. It will just be an open circuit if neither A nor B is the "hot" or neutral. This would be the simple way to go if it were not so dangerous. The multimeter, set on AC voltage, would show you where the power is with out connecting the wires together.

If you have a clip end on a multimeter lead,
attach it to the wire that you think is C and then check for voltage on A with the other lead. If you have voltage, one of these will be the "hot"

Then check the other wire without moving the clip. If you still have voltage, then you are clipped on the "hot".

If you have no voltage, then the wire you checked before is the "hot".

Think of all of the wires as being hot all of the time, because they complete a circuit. If you attach a wire or part of your body to any two wires, chances are high that you will become part of the circuit.



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2006, 09:28 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hello Ford and Welcome to the Forum:
Square eye is a super duper electrician, I have seen his work and you can use his suggestion. A switch simply breaks the "hot" wire, forget about any neutral in this case. One short wire is bringing power to the switch, the other short one goes to the light and the long one goes to the ventilator. Your double switch should have 4 screws in the sides of it. You will probably find 2 of the screws are connected with a little break-away tab; this is the side the power comes in on. The other 2 screws on the other side will be seperated so one can be used for the light and the other to go to the vent. Does that sound clear as mud? Two more things; once you use the voltmeter, please turn the power off while you work on it and when you are finished "give her the smoke test". Turn the power on and, if there is no smoke, congratulate yourself; it there is smoke, reverse the two short wires.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 09:49 PM  
fordprefect
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you both for your replies! I followed Square Eye's suggestion and got it right on the first try, meaning C was indeed the middle cable.

__________________
fordprefect is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 10:14 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

YAY!!!

Thank you for keeping us up to date!

I'm glad you got it worked out and got that less than safe situation fixed!



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Switch to Recptacle SavvyCat Electrical and Wiring 2 01-04-2009 06:28 PM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 05:26 PM
Illuminated wall switch glows but bulbs won't light Paul in Maryland Electrical and Wiring 3 10-21-2007 09:34 AM
Dinning room switch Blair1955 Electrical and Wiring 9 06-22-2007 06:25 AM
Thermocouple Installation Question gustavovgarcia Plumbing Forum 3 01-16-2006 09:43 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS