DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Split up a circuit.




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 04:15 AM  
yulookin2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default Split up a circuit.

I've got a kitchen circuit that is overloaded and I want to split it up. I called a electrican who gave me a rough bid of 300-500 to run two new circuits and clean up some junction boxes in the attic. That didn't sound too bad to me, so I had him come back to give me a more firm bid, but he has yet to call me back with a price like he said. Anyways I was wondering if this might be something I could do. The way I see it I would have to run my new dedicated lines to the two fixtures(a microwave and dishwasher) replace the current boxes with a remodel box and tie the original wires together in the box to continue the circuit and wire the fixtures up like normal. At the panel once the wire is run just use the proper breaker etc. I've run circuits before but I've never split one up that was already there. Anyway the job doesn't seem too tough to me, am I missing anything?

Thanks,

Darius



__________________
yulookin2 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2011, 01:30 AM  
yulookin2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default

bump. 49 views and no replies ouch.



__________________
yulookin2 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2011, 06:22 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,091
Liked 125 Times on 105 Posts
Likes Given: 318

Default well

Sometimes no replies means your good to go.
I leave the electric to the electricians.
Sounds like your ready to go, make sure your wire sizes and breakers are good for what you need to supply, and get a permit....done.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2011, 02:55 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,291
Liked 403 Times on 314 Posts
Likes Given: 166

Default

If you really mean "dedicated" then you should be running from the receptacle back to the box without any other devices online. Modern kitchens have dedicated kitchen circuits for each major appliance, including the microwave. If you have room in your main, I would split off the existing countertop receptacles from all other receptacles and use a 20A breaker. Next, I would run dedicated lines for as many major appliances as possible at 20A by pulling new wire (12-2NB) through existing boxes. Count on drywall damage in walls and possible ceiling and repainting. I just finished a home theatre remodel and ceiling fan installation -- lots of drywall dust, retexture and painting. Good luck.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Split-level Redesign JulieC General Home Improvement Discussion 1 06-02-2010 07:42 AM
Replacement of 4T split HVAC billwells99 HVAC 1 07-12-2009 10:55 AM
Split-Level Framing Question kobelleprop General Home Improvement Discussion 5 04-27-2008 12:25 PM
Converting split-entry to 2-story bwbelle General Home Improvement Discussion 2 09-25-2005 02:37 PM
Split foyer Gin Framing and Foundation 1 06-28-2005 01:27 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS