DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Split up a circuit.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 03:15 AM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default Split up a circuit.

I've got a kitchen circuit that is overloaded and I want to split it up. I called a electrican who gave me a rough bid of 300-500 to run two new circuits and clean up some junction boxes in the attic. That didn't sound too bad to me, so I had him come back to give me a more firm bid, but he has yet to call me back with a price like he said. Anyways I was wondering if this might be something I could do. The way I see it I would have to run my new dedicated lines to the two fixtures(a microwave and dishwasher) replace the current boxes with a remodel box and tie the original wires together in the box to continue the circuit and wire the fixtures up like normal. At the panel once the wire is run just use the proper breaker etc. I've run circuits before but I've never split one up that was already there. Anyway the job doesn't seem too tough to me, am I missing anything?



yulookin2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 12:30 AM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9

bump. 49 views and no replies ouch.

yulookin2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:22 AM  
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,270
Liked 187 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 477

Default well

Sometimes no replies means your good to go.
I leave the electric to the electricians.
Sounds like your ready to go, make sure your wire sizes and breakers are good for what you need to supply, and get a permit....done.
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 01:55 PM  
CallMeVilla's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,555
Liked 541 Times on 413 Posts
Likes Given: 226


If you really mean "dedicated" then you should be running from the receptacle back to the box without any other devices online. Modern kitchens have dedicated kitchen circuits for each major appliance, including the microwave. If you have room in your main, I would split off the existing countertop receptacles from all other receptacles and use a 20A breaker. Next, I would run dedicated lines for as many major appliances as possible at 20A by pulling new wire (12-2NB) through existing boxes. Count on drywall damage in walls and possible ceiling and repainting. I just finished a home theatre remodel and ceiling fan installation -- lots of drywall dust, retexture and painting. Good luck.
CallMeVilla is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Split-level Redesign JulieC General Home Improvement Discussion 1 06-02-2010 06:42 AM
Replacement of 4T split HVAC billwells99 HVAC 1 07-12-2009 09:55 AM
Split-Level Framing Question kobelleprop General Home Improvement Discussion 5 04-27-2008 11:25 AM
Converting split-entry to 2-story bwbelle General Home Improvement Discussion 2 09-25-2005 01:37 PM
Split foyer Gin Framing and Foundation 1 06-28-2005 12:27 AM

Newest Threads