DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Combining Two Electric Meters




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2011, 10:27 PM  
1victorianfarmhouse
Established Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West of Aurora, Illinois
Posts: 222
Liked 14 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Combining Two Electric Meters

Forgive me if I'm asking the impossible...but I want to ask here before I start trying to ask an electrician.

The old house I bought was converted into two units many years ago. As a result, I have to electric meters on the house, one for the upstairs, another for the downstairs.

How should one go about combining the circuits of the two meters, or the power going to them?

Thanks,

vince


1victorianfarmhouse is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:26 AM  
kok328
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,728
Liked 241 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 114

Default

You most likely need to call your utility company to make the change over for you.
If you have two separate sources of power feeding each meter then combining the power going into them is not an option.
Power going in is referred to as Line, power going out is referred to as Load.
If it were me, I'd combine the two Loads onto one meter (assuming that this used to be a one meter setup in the past).



Last edited by kok328; 09-02-2011 at 12:49 PM.
kok328 is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 02:04 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 23,605
Liked 3004 Times on 2630 Posts
Likes Given: 4950

Default

If you have one feed from the road the utility would change the wires in the meter boxes. If you have two feeds your electrion would make the connection while the the utility have the meters out, that is if your feed is big enough.
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 07:13 PM  
1victorianfarmhouse
Established Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West of Aurora, Illinois
Posts: 222
Liked 14 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks for the interesting info. I have two lines coming out of the ground, both going to separate meters that go to separate fuse boxes.

At one point the house did run on one meter.

I think the best thing to do at first is to call the utility company (Com Ed) and see what they say to start with.

vince
1victorianfarmhouse is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Pipe Sizing & Flow Meters kok328 Plumbing Forum 12 03-28-2014 04:27 PM
Combining Outlet Circuits Freeing up Breakers dorje Electrical and Wiring 3 02-21-2013 07:42 AM
lighting, lux, digital cameras, light meters, incident light Wuzzat? Electrical and Wiring 2 01-10-2013 09:13 PM
seal gap between siding and vents/meters? qmqmqm General Home Improvement Discussion 6 09-12-2012 07:07 PM
Combining Foamboard and Roxul- Air and Moisture Issues? Greythen Insulation and Radiant Barriers 3 02-01-2012 06:13 PM



Newest Threads

Hi.