DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > light swithch -> switch and socket




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2011, 09:55 AM  
redbourn
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_23743_60771
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 7
Default light swithch -> switch and socket

Hi,

I have a light switch on the wall and bought a new gizmo that will allow me to continue to turn the light on and off and it also has a socket.

Sorry that I don't know the tech names for these things.

I turned off the circuit breaker and discovered that there are only two wires going to the light switch.

The way that I have it wired right now is the live going to live and the other wire going to neutral.

The light switch only works if I plug something into the socket.

I imagine that I need to bridge two of the sockets but don't know which ones.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Michael


redbourn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 03:56 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_60794
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

First thing first, are you working with 240 or 120 volts? It will be an easy fix.


nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 04:48 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_60800
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,311
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

If Michael is in Israel, I don't think he's working with 120 or 240V circuits.
More like 100V but, the concepts are the same.
Unfortunately, I don't have a clue as to what he's referring to without correct terminology.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 05:12 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_60805
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

I think what he has is like an old bathroom fixture that had a razer plug built in and he wants to use the plug with or without the light.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:50 PM  
redbourn
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_23743_60817
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
First thing first, are you working with 240 or 120 volts? It will be an easy fix.
240 - thanx for the reply.
redbourn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:55 PM  
redbourn
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_23743_60818
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 7
Default

thanks kok328 and nealtw

http://is.gd/5hZudZ

The above is similar to what I'm trying to do.

I just took a picture of the back of my new socket and will upload it a little later.

I just moved and have to look in boxes to find my card reader; or I'll buy another one.

Sorry not to have been more explicit.

Last edited by redbourn; 09-07-2011 at 11:55 PM. Reason: forgot to add a link
redbourn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:57 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_60820
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

I was afraid of that I don't think I can be much help here. It may be helpfull to have a photo of your setup.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 02:18 AM  
redbourn
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_23743_60823
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel
Posts: 7
Default

Two images ...

http://i53.tinypic.com/303bvnq.jpg = back

http://i56.tinypic.com/2rgywpz.jpg = front

Normally in Israel brown is live neutral is blue and earth is green/yellow

But this an old apartment (40 years old) and I only have red and yellow at this outlet.

Thanks,

Michael
redbourn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 07:27 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_60828
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

Have tried finding the manufactures web sit for instruction? I just don't think I want to make a guess here.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 03:12 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_60851
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,054
Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If you only have two wires then you can 't do it. You have hot in and switched hot back to the fixture. You don't have the return wire to use for a receptacle. Doesn't matter if it is 120 or 240. You need three wires to make a switch receptacle combo work.

Looking at the pictures it appears that (on the back image) power in goes to the terminal with the brown wire(right). Return power goes to the left connection(this is the wire you are missing). Ground goes to the upper connection. Fixture switched power goes to the red wire.



Last edited by JoeD; 09-08-2011 at 03:17 PM.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Light switch problem TGMcCallie Electrical and Wiring 4 07-21-2011 02:20 PM
15 amp light switch on a 20 amp circuit stubecullerstan Electrical and Wiring 5 04-05-2010 02:59 PM
2-way light switch issue jastangl Electrical and Wiring 5 06-19-2009 09:20 AM
3-way switch not turning off light cheesefood Electrical and Wiring 1 02-22-2009 08:12 PM
rewire light from switch to light davidh424 Electrical and Wiring 3 01-12-2009 08:56 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS