DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Compressor Wiring




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2011, 12:04 PM  
Raindem
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default Compressor Wiring

Greetings electrical gurus. I'm attempting to install my brand new Ingersoll Rand 220v compressor. The installation instructions are useless. They just point to the connection and say "to power supply" and of course tell you to hire a qualified electrician. I have a lot of DiY experience with 120v circuits but not 240v.

So here's what I got. The first picture is my nearby 220v wall outlet. The Black-Red wires have 240v, and the Black-White & Red-White have 120v. The 2nd picture show my compressors electrical box. It has a black, a white, and a ground. So I was going to buy a 220v extension cord but not sure how I wire it up.

Thanks



Outlet.JPG   Compr.JPG  
__________________
Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2011, 07:40 PM  
fatham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: london, ont
Posts: 3
Default

Your new compressor is presently wired for 220.The new power cord needs to connect the black and red (220v) lines from the receptacle, ( as shown in Your left picture) , to the "line in" lugs in the contactor shown in the right photo.
The green wire (Grounding wire )connects from the copper terminal in the receptacle, to the green wire terminal in the contactor housing box.
I hope that is what You are looking for.


Cheers......fatham



__________________

Last edited by fatham; 09-24-2011 at 07:44 PM. Reason: changed green wire to copper terminology
fatham is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2011, 07:42 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,230
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

The compressor will need 120V to the black wire and 120V to the white wire from the opposing leg of the power source.
In other words, hook the red wire from the wall outlet to the black or white wire on the compressor and then hook the black wire from the wall outlet to the remaining (white or black) wire on the compressor.
Finally, hook the bare copper wire from the wall outlet to the green wire on the compressor.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2011, 11:02 PM  
Raindem
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks, that's what I was looking for. One more question, what does the white wire on the receptacle hook to?

__________________
Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2011, 10:02 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,230
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

The white wire will not be used in this application.
Terminate it with a wire nut and stuff it back into the box or if you are going to wire up a cord to match the outlet, just leave it where it is.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2011, 12:45 PM  
Raindem
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

Yes, I was going to use one of those pre-wired plugs from ACE. Thanks.

__________________
Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2011, 03:33 PM  
Raindem
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

Just to make sure I'm doing this right I attached the motor plate for my compressor.

The existing feed wire (photo #1 of my 1st post) is 6 ga. with a 50 amp breaker. The wire I plan to attach to the compressor is 10 ga., which seems about the same size as the factory wires that are there (photo #2 of my 1st post). I then plan to swap my 50 amp fuse for a 30 amp because a 50 amp breaker for 10 ga. wire seems rather large.

Does this sound like a reasonable plan?

Thanks again.

IMG_0001.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by Raindem; 09-29-2011 at 03:36 PM. Reason: Forgot attachment
Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2011, 04:03 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,230
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Wire it with a 10 gauge cord and a 30 amp breaker/fuse.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-29-2011, 05:27 PM  
Raindem
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

How do you remove the breaker? I have the panel pulled off (power is shut off) and the wires are disconnected. But I don't see how the breaker is attached to the bus.

Edit: Nevermind, figured it out. Thanks.

__________________

Last edited by Raindem; 09-29-2011 at 06:00 PM.
Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2011, 09:58 PM  
BigChuck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 6
Default

Glad you got it figured out Raindem, I'm mostly here to learn, but I'd be calling an electrician for my own personal safety! haha



__________________
BigChuck is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Capacitors for Baldor VL1309 Air Compressor Motor NickCJ7 Electrical and Wiring 18 08-21-2014 08:49 PM
Compressor Does Not Run Panabiker HVAC 1 08-11-2011 01:57 PM
Compressor Fan Keeps Getting Hot DaleChron HVAC 2 07-06-2011 06:13 PM
wiring compressor contactor Joe0205 HVAC 3 09-10-2008 02:34 PM
frost on compressor? caldama HVAC 3 06-14-2007 09:51 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS