DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Works then does not work




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2011, 07:25 PM  
a1aprt
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24189_62041
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default Works then does not work

I have an electrical outlet that according to my tester light everything is correct. I try to plug our fireplace blower in and it does not work. I can run an extension cord to another outlet and the blower works fine.


a1aprt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 08:53 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_20127_62045
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Works then does not work

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1aprt View Post
I have an electrical outlet that according to my tester light everything is correct. I try to plug our fireplace blower in and it does not work. I can run an extension cord to another outlet and the blower works fine.
Electric it interesting to work with. If you have a hot line and a earth ground,
it will lit up your test lite. and show you that you have 110 volts. But you need the power co.s neutral and a hot line to run a motor. Check for lose wires. sounds like you are losing your neutral wire. Paul


paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 04:14 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_62065
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,315
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Depending on the type of tester you have it should read "Open Neutral". If you are using a voltmeter and have an open neutral, you will show 110V between hot and ground but, not between hot and neutral.
As Paul indicates, check the outlet for burnt or loose wires.
If you find nothing there, then you will have to trace it back to the next connection that the outlet is linked to.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 07:55 PM  
BridgeMan
Senior Member
 
BridgeMan's Avatar
registry_dropdown_23463_62076
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 738
Liked 75 Times on 67 Posts

Default

And of course, cut the power to the outlet before pulling the receptacle--little "tickles" can become big jolts in a hurry!
BridgeMan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:00 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_62109
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,061
Liked 125 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

What type of tester are you using? What does it read when you try to run the blower?
JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 04:47 PM  
houseDIY2312
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24226_62246
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Definitely sounds like a loose wire. Perhaps, the wire engages when you plug the item in because there is pressure. This can be dangerous! I would take the advice above and cut the power to inspect!
houseDIY2312 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:28 AM  
Raindem
Member
registry_dropdown_7183_62349
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 48
Likes Given: 1

Default

Do any other appliances work in that plug? Try something low draw like a table lamp.


Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
DSL works, phone doesn't boil2win Electrical and Wiring 3 07-23-2011 07:01 PM
Green Window Works sjruch Windows and Doors 4 06-14-2011 09:00 PM
One thermostat works, the other doesn't churley702 HVAC 1 11-22-2006 08:27 AM
Ac works, no heat aces11 HVAC 1 10-17-2006 09:01 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS