DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Can I repair a cord with brittle wires?

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2011, 10:05 AM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default Can I repair a cord with brittle wires?


I have an old Mac PowerBook and I've gone through 2 power cords that cost $80. They keep breaking near the place where they plug into the computer. I found some instructions online on how to fix the cord, but when I pull off the sheath, the wires seem brittle. A few of them seemed to have broken, but it's hard to tell because they kinda seem frayed/hairy anyway. Is there any technique for stripping wire that would enable me to do it with the minimum damage possible? Is there any possibility that it's OK to proceed as is?

Thanks for any feedback.


heyhew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 07:45 PM  
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,551
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 2


Frayed, brittle, it's trash.
I'd be trying to figure out how I'm using it or a better location so I do not move it so much so this does not keep happening.
joecaption is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:27 PM  
Senior Member
BridgeMan's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 738
Liked 75 Times on 67 Posts


Electrical cord insulation is easily stripped without cutting any of the actual wire strands by using a wire-cutting tool. They are available at any big box store (I've seen cheap ones for less than $12), and all come with a multiple-size stripping feature. With any luck, there might even be a sales person handy who can show you how to properly use it.
BridgeMan is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How do I replace 2-prong cord with grounded cord? SphericalCamel Electrical and Wiring 9 02-05-2010 10:10 AM
removing/replacing base molding from brittle plaster walls alst General Home Improvement Discussion 3 09-08-2009 08:23 PM
Generator Cord and Inlet box 20A to 30A broadbill Electrical and Wiring 8 05-04-2009 12:02 AM
Replacement Cord for DW cibula11 Electrical and Wiring 7 04-29-2008 09:24 PM
Cut cable cord ruggburne Electrical and Wiring 4 01-21-2008 08:29 PM

Newest Threads