DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Can I repair a cord with brittle wires?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2011, 11:05 AM  
heyhew
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default Can I repair a cord with brittle wires?

Hi,

I have an old Mac PowerBook and I've gone through 2 power cords that cost $80. They keep breaking near the place where they plug into the computer. I found some instructions online on how to fix the cord, but when I pull off the sheath, the wires seem brittle. A few of them seemed to have broken, but it's hard to tell because they kinda seem frayed/hairy anyway. Is there any technique for stripping wire that would enable me to do it with the minimum damage possible? Is there any possibility that it's OK to proceed as is?

Thanks for any feedback.

Best,
Adrienne



__________________
heyhew is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2011, 08:45 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,366
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Frayed, brittle, it's trash.
I'd be trying to figure out how I'm using it or a better location so I do not move it so much so this does not keep happening.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2011, 09:27 PM  
BridgeMan
Senior Member
 
BridgeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 738
Liked 75 Times on 67 Posts

Default

Electrical cord insulation is easily stripped without cutting any of the actual wire strands by using a wire-cutting tool. They are available at any big box store (I've seen cheap ones for less than $12), and all come with a multiple-size stripping feature. With any luck, there might even be a sales person handy who can show you how to properly use it.

__________________
BridgeMan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How do I replace 2-prong cord with grounded cord? SphericalCamel Electrical and Wiring 9 02-05-2010 10:10 AM
removing/replacing base molding from brittle plaster walls alst General Home Improvement Discussion 3 09-08-2009 09:23 PM
Generator Cord and Inlet box 20A to 30A broadbill Electrical and Wiring 8 05-04-2009 01:02 AM
Replacement Cord for DW cibula11 Electrical and Wiring 7 04-29-2008 10:24 PM
Cut cable cord ruggburne Electrical and Wiring 4 01-21-2008 08:29 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS