DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Switch Loop




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2011, 02:26 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_63836
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,054
Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Your diagram only has one fixture. It changes when you go to more then one fixture. You either need to connect the switch to the first fixture or use 14/3 between the fixtures.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 02:27 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_63837
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,467
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Is it a reguler switch or a dimmable one. Reguler CFL's can not be controled by a dimmer switch. There are new ones out that can be but it will say right on the box.


joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 02:30 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_63838
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,467
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

You only need 14-3 if it's a double pole switch. If it's not then 14-2 with ground will work fine.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 05:23 PM  
derick2011
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24539_63843
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
If the power is coming into the light fixture and then to the switch.
Pig tail power black to switch white switch black to lamp black and second light black
Pigtail power white to lamp white and second light white.

Neal that is how I wired the circuit, and I am getting the only one light working thing at a time. I can't figure it out. I'm going to try different bulbs. If that doesn't work I am going to use the 14/3 bn lights
derick2011 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 05:23 PM  
derick2011
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24539_63845
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Is it a reguler switch or a dimmable one. Reguler CFL's can not be controled by a dimmer switch. There are new ones out that can be but it will say right on the box.
regular single pole switch, CFL are not dimmer capable.
derick2011 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 06:45 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_63852
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,467
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

FAQs: Compact Fluorescent: GE Commercial Lighting Products
All the lighting companys are also making dimmable CFL's.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 08:46 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_63899
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,054
Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
You only need 14-3 if it's a double pole switch. If it's not then 14-2 with ground will work fine.
Wrong with two fixtures you must use 14/3 between them.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 08:49 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_63900
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,054
Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derick2011 View Post
neal that is how i wired the circuit, and i am getting the only one light working thing at a time. I can't figure it out. I'm going to try different bulbs. If that doesn't work i am going to use the 14/3 bn lights
I already told you and made a diagram. You MUST use 14/3 to make it work the way you have describe the wiring with power to the first light then the second light then the switch.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 04:33 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_63922
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 12,851
Liked 1267 Times on 1117 Posts
Likes Given: 2123

Default

Thanks Joe, went back and read it more carefully. What Joe is saying is you need another wire to bring power to the switch or at least to the light closest to the switch and that would be 14/3.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:59 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_63935
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,467
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I went back and read all the post from the org. poster. Looks like he's just trying to turn on more then one light with just one switch. There's no 3 conductor wire needed to do that. If I'm wrong and that's not what he's trying to do please forgive me.

Light Switch Wiring Diagram - Multiple Lights
For some reason in this picture there showing the bare ground as a yellow wire, which in new code for 12 DC volts in boats so the 110 and 12 volt DC ground do not get crossed but the rest of the diagram is right.


joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
3-Way Switch Help Balfro Electrical and Wiring 10 10-06-2010 11:24 PM
Switch Loops shan2themax Electrical and Wiring 5 08-18-2009 03:24 PM
3-Way Switch help oxicottin Electrical and Wiring 4 07-06-2008 11:27 PM
Looking for a Kenmore lid switch Steve76 General Appliance Discussion 4 12-31-2007 08:21 AM
Gravity Hot Water Recirculating Loop Questions harleysilo Plumbing Forum 3 01-17-2007 11:50 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS