DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > oven




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 12:28 PM  
justwondering
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default oven

can I install a 40 amp oven to an exisitng 50 amp breaker or should I down size the breaker to a 40 amp


justwondering is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:36 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 14,179
Liked 1446 Times on 1275 Posts
Likes Given: 2491

Default

The 50 amp breaker is there for the wire and the oven has it's own fuses or breakers.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:17 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,348
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

You MUST downsize the breaker, you can not over protect the appliance.
If the appliance is rated at 40amps and it starts to draw excess of 40amps, the breaker must trip to protect the circuit as well as the appliance.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 09:18 PM
Oven remodeling elisamatt General Appliance Discussion 3 06-25-2009 11:36 AM
1950 Magic Chef Oven---How do I get the oven to light? fuma General Appliance Discussion 6 06-08-2009 02:39 PM
Frigidaire Oven Out FixerUpper445 General Appliance Discussion 2 04-06-2009 06:13 PM
no oven or clock....... triple D General Appliance Discussion 1 08-20-2008 01:29 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS