DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > oven

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 12:28 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default oven

can I install a 40 amp oven to an exisitng 50 amp breaker or should I down size the breaker to a 40 amp

justwondering is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:36 PM  
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 15,341
Liked 1553 Times on 1368 Posts
Likes Given: 2731


The 50 amp breaker is there for the wire and the oven has it's own fuses or breakers.
nealtw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:17 PM  
Supporting Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,385
Liked 157 Times on 133 Posts
Likes Given: 71


You MUST downsize the breaker, you can not over protect the appliance.
If the appliance is rated at 40amps and it starts to draw excess of 40amps, the breaker must trip to protect the circuit as well as the appliance.
kok328 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 09:18 PM
Oven remodeling elisamatt General Appliance Discussion 3 06-25-2009 11:36 AM
1950 Magic Chef Oven---How do I get the oven to light? fuma General Appliance Discussion 6 06-08-2009 02:39 PM
Frigidaire Oven Out FixerUpper445 General Appliance Discussion 2 04-06-2009 06:13 PM
no oven or clock....... triple D General Appliance Discussion 1 08-20-2008 01:29 PM

Newest Threads