DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > GFCI outlet hook up--please help.




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 09:25 AM  
jayre
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default GFCI outlet hook up--please help.

This is the outlet that's burnt out and I bought an exact same replacement. I thought I hooked the wires the exact same way as was but maybe I missed something. I can get the green corner light to light up but the reset button doesn't work and I still can't get any power. Any idea where each wire should go?





jayre is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:33 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,509
Liked 1350 Times on 1191 Posts
Likes Given: 2325

Default

The red or the black is live when the breaker is turned on, it goes to line the other goes to load.


nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:43 PM  
jayre
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Pardon my ignorance. Would you be able to tell me which wire (Marked by 1-4) goes where (marked A-H)? Thank you so much.
GFCI.jpg   GFCI2.jpg  
jayre is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 05:31 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,509
Liked 1350 Times on 1191 Posts
Likes Given: 2325

Default

1-A
2-E
3-C
4-G
If that dosn't work change it to
1-C
2-G
3-A
4-E
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:04 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,337
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

I've never wired one backwards (line vs load) so I don't know if either combination won't work.
Best bet is to determine which wire (red or black) is the Line and then wire the opposite as load.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:32 PM  
jayre
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

nealtw, you are awesome!!! first set of combination worked. Thank you so much!!!!!
jayre is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:46 PM  
isola96
Senior Member
 
isola96's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lagrangeville, New York
Posts: 437
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayre
nealtw, you are awesome!!! first set of combination worked. Thank you so much!!!!!
Yeah they need a vote option or badge earning on this forum he would definitely be up there
And every one bugs out when there is a red wire?!? Lol


isola96 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Faulty GFCI outlet Qasar Electrical and Wiring 8 12-07-2011 06:36 AM
What to do with this GFCI outlet? stole Electrical and Wiring 3 05-28-2011 06:24 AM
GFCI outlet powerpro Electrical and Wiring 0 04-24-2011 08:37 AM
GFCI Outlet Question Briyon Electrical and Wiring 6 11-15-2010 04:00 PM
change outlet w/ 3 wires to GFCI Dave928 Electrical and Wiring 10 05-14-2008 07:44 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS