DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Adding new receptacle and switch




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 09:05 PM  
prh44
Junior Member
 
prh44's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 9
Default

In this case you are fine with out pigtails. The install meets NEC requirements. Pigtails are better when wiring multiply devices. This keeps down strean current flow from going through the upstream devices. It also will allow you to remove a device and not interupt down strem service. This is really important on multiwire branch circuits were the neutral can be energized even if one would turn off the circuit.
A multiwire branch circuit uses two hot feeds returning on one neutral.



Last edited by prh44; 02-14-2012 at 09:08 PM.
prh44 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 09:07 PM  
prh44
Junior Member
 
prh44's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 9
Default

One wire per terminal is required on most devices
prh44 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Single switch to receptacle jeff7 Electrical and Wiring 11 09-18-2012 08:44 AM
Adding New Receptacle SavvyCat Electrical and Wiring 12 01-26-2011 07:39 AM
Switch rewiring help (adding a swtich) Dimeron Electrical and Wiring 6 01-05-2011 04:26 PM
adding a second switch Ronniebaby Electrical and Wiring 4 10-24-2009 06:18 AM
adding 4-way switch bethany14 Electrical and Wiring 5 01-12-2007 06:32 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS