Repair 2" hole through brick wall

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FiveTenMatt

Reaction score
Hello all,
I recently purchased a condo, and upon moving in found a 1.5" hole through one of the walls (picture attached) that my house inspector apparently failed to notice. The hole goes from my living room straight through to the outside. I'd like to repair the hole, but I'm not sure what to do. I found this stuff at Home Depot that looks like caulk, but is supposed to be for repairing masonry cracks. Would this work? I don't have access to the outside of the building (I'm a few stories up), so how should I keep it from coming out the back of the hole as I fill it? Any thoughts on what else I should use? It's worth noting that I have no experience with masonry projects. Thanks for the help!

image010.jpg

I think a caulk would work. I would use a good quality exterior caulk. You could also buy a brick and crumble up some of the dust (or just get a little bit from the bottom of the pallet of bricks) and use that to put on the inside to make it less noticeable. I would shove a plastic bag in the hole most of the way through so that it acts as a stop and keeps the caulk from running out to the outside. Also since it is outside it may be a condo owners association issue thing. Since most of the hole is not in your condo it is in the building itself.

Use morter not caulking. Caulkings not going to match the look.
Yes you would have to buy a whole bag, but a bag of morter would cost less then a tube of silicone caulking, just toss what's left over.

Listen to Joe . . . NO CAULK. Pack the hole with mortar (no gravel) and trowel it smooth on the outside. If you mix the mortar very wet, it will just run out . . . try a drier mix and pack it as deeply as possible using a stick to push it inside.

Have fun