DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > wire doubling up Neutral bar slot.




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 12:21 PM  
knight775042002
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Default wire doubling up Neutral bar slot.

I would like to know what is the best way to fix a wiring problem or even if it is a problem. I just brought a newer home built in 2008 located in TX.
At my main breaker box I have a ground and Neutral bar. Some of the ground wires on the ground bar are doubling up. Also on my neutral bar some of the wire are also doubling up.
1. If I just leave it alone will it cause a problem?
2. Is there an easy fix, like pigtail with a wire nut to make one connection?
3. If not able to fix it correctly with a pigtail what is the correct way to fix it, and can it be done DIY.
4. I am not sure but is it ok to doubling up on the ground bar?


knight775042002 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:02 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,347
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

1. If I just leave it alone will it cause a problem? NO.
2. Is there an easy fix, like pigtail with a wire nut to make one connection? YES, NO.
3. If not able to fix it correctly with a pigtail what is the correct way to fix it, and can it be done DIY. ADD BUSS BAR EXTENSION
4. I am not sure but is it ok to doubling up on the ground bar? NO


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:27 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,260
Liked 187 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 464

Default Ok

With a question like this, a picture will help to give you correct answers.
Who knows, we may even see something you are missing.
Welcome aboard!!
__________________
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 07:28 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knight775042002 View Post
4. I am not sure but is it ok to doubling up on the ground bar?
For a panel that new this is FINE, if the wires are the same size. Typically you can put up to three in a hole.

The same CANNOT be said for neutrals.
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:27 PM  
viper
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

There should only be one neutral per hole and with the grounds you can put two as long as they are the same gauge wire. Also you should not pigtail these wires. You are not supposed to have junctions inside an electrical panel. If you need more lugs to land wires I would get an additional ground bar, move ground wires to fill up added ground bar first making sure to leave neutral wires on original neutral/ ground bus bars
viper is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:01 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper View Post
....... and with the grounds you can put two as long as they are the same gauge wire.
Most newer panels will even accept up to three per hole.


Quote:
Originally Posted by viper View Post
Also you should not pigtail these wires. You are not supposed to have junctions inside an electrical panel.
NOT at all true. You certainly CAN have splices in a panel.


speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
not enough neutral bar sato Electrical and Wiring 4 12-04-2011 11:39 PM
Neutral wire? restez1963 Electrical and Wiring 4 07-13-2011 10:36 PM
2 breakers, 1 neutral, 14-3 wire coming from Load Center/panel kmham Electrical and Wiring 4 05-29-2011 09:13 PM
cut slot in foundation to extend in slab hvac duct abarrie Framing and Foundation 3 04-28-2010 05:38 AM
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 09:18 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS