DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > a/c




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 05:50 AM  
R-SOLO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Default a/c

I want to install a 220v a/c,will a 30amp breaker with 10-2 wire work for this..



__________________
R-SOLO is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2012, 06:42 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,212
Liked 115 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

To be sure, we need to know what the watt or amp rating is on the unit.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2012, 11:26 AM  
R-SOLO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Default

Ok will check

__________________
R-SOLO is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2012, 11:30 AM  
R-SOLO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Default

I have a central a/c that's not coming on,contactor energize on a call for a/c,but nothing outside,not getting 240v to unit? Just a guess bad breaker or no..

__________________
R-SOLO is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2012, 12:32 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,212
Liked 115 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Are you getting power to the unit?
Did you check the fuses in the disconnect outside by the unit?
Are you getting control power to the contactor/relay?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2012, 11:24 AM  
R-SOLO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Default

The power I'm getting to the unit is 24v to the contactor they energize,but no 240 from the disconnect which has no fuses.

__________________
R-SOLO is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-01-2012, 04:24 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,212
Liked 115 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

did you toggle the breaker off/on?
You may have to remove the breaker panel box cover and see if your getting power off the lugs to the breaker itself.
this is the starting point of the circuit to the A/C unit outside.
with the breaker on and no power from the lugs, then you would have identified a bad breaker.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS