DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring a furnace for a generator.....




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-04-2012, 12:28 PM  
doechsli
Join Date: May 2012
Location: , Kentucky
Posts: 68
Liked 23 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Wiring a furnace for a generator.....

I saw a writeup where a gas furnace was wired with a piece of an extension cord with a plug (properly sized) that was then plugged into an outlet (dedicated circuit). There was only one outlet so only one device could be plugged at a time. This would allow the furnace to be easily switched to a generator in case of a power failure. This was said to be NEC compliant as the circuit was dedicated for the gas appliance and the wiring/outlet was sized properly. This seems like a much simpler and cheaper approach than a transfer switch but before I go and do this I wanted to be sure this was a sound idea.


__________________
Dennis

Last edited by doechsli; 09-04-2012 at 01:34 PM.
doechsli is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:54 PM  
kok328
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,735
Liked 245 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 116

Default

I have to admit, I do not know the NEC regulations regarding this type of setup and all furnaces I've seen are hardwired.
I have seen dedicated outlets setup to be used for misc. utility and/or used to back feed the breaker panel in order to run the furnace and/or other select items.
Sorry I can't be of more help to you but, Speedy may be able to provide NEC compliant input for you.


kok328 is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:11 AM  
doechsli
Join Date: May 2012
Location: , Kentucky
Posts: 68
Liked 23 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

To be clear, I have NO intention of backfeeding the panel, just want to plug the furnace into a generator. As an additional point of clarification, the power supply for the thermostat would also be powered with this setup.
__________________
Dennis
doechsli is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:49 AM  
rosemarie
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Hallo Everyone
I like the idea of having a dedicated outlet to your genset. If you are even remotely thinking of coming off your panel PLEASE use an isolation switch.
__________________
http://houston-heaters.com/
rosemarie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
generator has no power deadonion General Appliance Discussion 7 01-04-2015 06:25 PM
Canadian (Ontario) advice on wiring gas furnace to generator/backup power? theboyk Electrical and Wiring 4 11-20-2014 10:49 AM
Running a gas furnace off a generator.... doechsli HVAC 5 12-06-2013 08:20 PM
Generator install - unique home wiring or not toofast Electrical and Wiring 23 10-18-2013 10:46 AM
3 Phase Generator Campos Garage & Workshop Forum 2 11-05-2009 11:57 PM



Newest Threads