DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring a furnace for a generator.....




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 12:28 PM  
doechsli
Member
registry_dropdown_27610_76758
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 52
Liked 10 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Wiring a furnace for a generator.....

I saw a writeup where a gas furnace was wired with a piece of an extension cord with a plug (properly sized) that was then plugged into an outlet (dedicated circuit). There was only one outlet so only one device could be plugged at a time. This would allow the furnace to be easily switched to a generator in case of a power failure. This was said to be NEC compliant as the circuit was dedicated for the gas appliance and the wiring/outlet was sized properly. This seems like a much simpler and cheaper approach than a transfer switch but before I go and do this I wanted to be sure this was a sound idea.


__________________
Dennis

Last edited by doechsli; 09-04-2012 at 01:34 PM.
doechsli is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:54 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_76761
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,315
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

I have to admit, I do not know the NEC regulations regarding this type of setup and all furnaces I've seen are hardwired.
I have seen dedicated outlets setup to be used for misc. utility and/or used to back feed the breaker panel in order to run the furnace and/or other select items.
Sorry I can't be of more help to you but, Speedy may be able to provide NEC compliant input for you.


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:11 AM  
doechsli
Member
registry_dropdown_27610_76786
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 52
Liked 10 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

To be clear, I have NO intention of backfeeding the panel, just want to plug the furnace into a generator. As an additional point of clarification, the power supply for the thermostat would also be powered with this setup.
__________________
Dennis
doechsli is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:49 AM  
rosemarie
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_29902_81373
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Hallo Everyone
I like the idea of having a dedicated outlet to your genset. If you are even remotely thinking of coming off your panel PLEASE use an isolation switch.
__________________
http://houston-heaters.com/
rosemarie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to determine power requirements for a generator and other questions ilyaz Electrical and Wiring 5 03-01-2015 08:06 AM
natural gas-powered generator inside home? ilyaz Electrical and Wiring 8 04-05-2013 02:17 PM
Generator Cord and Inlet box 20A to 30A broadbill Electrical and Wiring 8 05-04-2009 12:02 AM
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 06:02 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS