DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Trane XE90 pressure switch problem




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 11:50 PM  
incarmel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default Trane XE90 pressure switch problem

Got 3-flash code for pressure switch problem on my trane xe90 system (~15 year old).
The inducer fan runs with normal sound. Can see the turning of fan.
Opened the front tube to pressure switch and saw water dripping out. Dirty brown rusty water also came out of the front hole on the pressure switch.
Opened the back tube to pressure switch. Can feel air coming out of this tube but don't know the pressure.
I suspect the pressure switch is dead.
Any suggestions for this issues?

Thanks.



__________________
incarmel is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 11:24 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Get the specs for the switch and simulate the setpoint pressure by using a column of water. You'll need some tubing from the hardware store, and a meter.

If it's like 0.05" WC [about 3/64"] you may want to put a drop of hand dishwashing liquid in the water. It breaks the surface tension so you get a more accurate reading.
Or you can slope the tubing which will amplify how visible this 3/64" is. A 10 degree slope will give you a 17/64" difference.

From Grainger, roughly half of their switches cost between $44 and $26.



__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 10-04-2012 at 12:45 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 06:58 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,220
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

clean the openings on the inducer motor where the tubes connect & check the exhaust pipe for wasps/bees nest looking for any blockage that may prevent the pressure switch from "making".

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 07:44 PM  
incarmel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328
clean the openings on the inducer motor where the tubes connect & check the exhaust pipe for wasps/bees nest looking for any blockage that may prevent the pressure switch from "making".
My contractor just extended the exhaust pipe to ~9" tall. I assume it is clean inside.

The inducer motor/drain tube are also clear.
__________________
incarmel is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 07:46 PM  
incarmel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wuzzat?
Get the specs for the switch and simulate the setpoint pressure by using a column of water. You'll need some tubing from the hardware store, and a meter.

If it's like 0.05" WC [about 3/64"] you may want to put a drop of hand dishwashing liquid in the water. It breaks the surface tension so you get a more accurate reading.
Or you can slope the tubing which will amplify how visible this 3/64" is. A 10 degree slope will give you a 17/64" difference.

From Grainger, roughly half of their switches cost between $44 and $26.
Ordered a new switch and will arrive tomorrow. Will update.

Update:
My new pressure switch arrived.
Put it to replace the old one.
The furnace back to work.

Thank you guys for the help.


__________________

Last edited by incarmel; 10-09-2012 at 10:49 PM.
incarmel is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE 90 pressure switch eddie HVAC 70 12-17-2013 06:14 PM
Trane XE90 - pressure switch error (with pic) FmrLCpl HVAC 6 11-09-2013 02:21 PM
Trane XE 90 pressure switch ldpfeifer HVAC 1 02-27-2011 08:29 AM
Trane XE90 problem MikeD1980 HVAC 3 09-14-2010 07:13 PM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 05:26 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS