DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > 1 wire short




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2006, 05:38 PM  
wheelman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default 1 wire short

Kind of like being a few fries short a happy meal or something.....I just purchased and installed a Hunter programmable thermostat from Lowes. It is the model specific for a heat pump--which I have. I followed the instructions to the letter, but I've run into a problem that's not covered in the instructions. There's no "L" wire in the bundle coming into my thermostat location. I even split the cover several inches farther back and still no L wire. Now that I've spend nearly $100 on this thing, without the L wire will it not switch from heat to cool automatically? Very frustrating! How do I correct this problem? I'm no HVAC tinkerer at all. Changing the thermostat is about as involved in HVAC as I get.....HELP!

Thanks!

Hal
Kentucky



__________________
wheelman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2006, 10:55 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome to the Forum Wheelman:
It sounds like the easiest thing to do is buy a new cable with enough wires in it and maybe 1 or 2 extras. Tie the new cable to the end of the old one and pull it through the same route, then make your connections. I think you can get and eight wire cable. Make sure you don't make a knot larger than the cable when you make the tie because it may not want to go through the holes.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2006, 12:09 AM  
tooltime
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Default

The old wire could possible be stapled down. I doubt that it would be in the walls if it was put in more recently than the contruction process. It may be tacked along joists or something before it enters the walls. So I'd at least take a look for those before you start trying to pull it, might save ya a bit of agrivation.

__________________

If you want it done right, guess you gotta do it yourself. :D

tooltime is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Stapling electrical wire triggers sparks pressureseal Electrical and Wiring 9 08-05-2008 11:19 AM
how do I wire an inline fan to the hvac blower tomate10 HVAC 1 06-02-2008 11:49 AM
Electical Wire Near Heat Vent ok? Glimmerman911 Electrical and Wiring 2 12-18-2007 01:36 PM
Is it alright to use underground wire inside a house? Outbacker Electrical and Wiring 1 08-20-2007 01:25 PM
230v welder, 240v compresser - breaker & wire size? Scot Clark Electrical and Wiring 3 02-02-2007 03:50 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS